Psyche logo

He tried to kill me, but let's save his life

Trapped and controlled

By Denise HarrisPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1

I was woken by the drug addicts mother telling me that the drug addict was locked up in our house and he was about to commit suicide. She told me that I was the only one that he would listen too and the only one that could save his life. What?!?! He tried to kill me last night. You remember that right? These were the thoughts going on in my head as I scrambled around in a confused fog trying to get my clothes and shoes on.

We get in the car and she is prepping me for the events that were about to transpire. Let me back up. Keep in mind that her husband is an attorney. Her oldest son was the chief enforcement officer for the ABC. Her son-in-law is also an attorney. Her ex husband was a highway patrolman/investigator and her dad was a sheriff for 25 years. So, needless to say they always get things like this swept under the rug. And this event was not going to be any different. Back to the prep talk. She is informing me that the sheriff (real good family friend) was on his way. She said they are aware the drug addict has a gun and are willing to overlook the fact that he's a 2 time felon and and that he is not supposed to be around guns much less have one in his possession. If he hands the gun over with no issues they will turn the other cheek.

Y'all I can not even explain what was going on in my head. Like wtf? Seriously..... So, we get there and I didn't even have time to say a word. The police had already swarmed the house. The sheriff was there and went inside the house to talk to the drug addict. The sheriff came out with the gun and the drug addict. The gun was given to the drug addicts' sister and then the drug addict taken to jail. The only reason he was taken to jail was because he was high. They stuck him in a drunk tank for the night so he could sober up.

I left out a major important fact. The drug addicts brother (the ABC chief enforcement officer) died the night before this. He died the night the drug addict tried to kill me. He had been fighting stage 4 lung cancer for 14 months. The drug addict learned of his brothers death on his way to jail. I picked him up from jail the day of the funeral and took him straight to the church. He stood with his family in wrinkled clothes and a hangover at his brother's funeral. Total embarrassment. Yet, they stood proud with their heads held high like nothing was wrong. I didn't understand it then and I don't understand it now. I used to think that they were such a solid tight knit family. When in all actuality the only thing they are is FAKE.

Shortly after the funeral the drug addict had a court hearing for some old charges. He was convicted and sentenced to 5 years in prison for falsification of documents and pretending to be a contractor or some shit like that. My family was in the courtroom the day this happened and they all cheered. I will never forget it. Not only was I fighting a drug addict everyday but I was also fighting my family in court. My family had been dragging me in and out of court using my ex husband to take my daughters away from me. They didn't like me being with a drug addict or any of my choices so they took it upon themselves to make my life even more miserable.

Y'all, I thought I had moved past all the emotions of how it all made me feel but now typing it out makes me feel them all over again. I'm pissed. I want to blame all of my hatred and anger and mental torment on the drug addict but actually my family had a huge role to play in that. I was being picked apart from every angle. People always tell me that looking at me they would never believe I had been through half the stuff I have. Well, believe it, cause I have.

Back to the story... When the drug addict went to prison, I had to move. I couldn't go home because my family was trying to rip me apart in court. And I couldn't afford the $2000 a month rent where we were living. So, the drug addicts mother told me if I stayed close she would pay my rent until the drug addict got out. We found a cheaper place and I moved me and the kids closer to her and I worked as an insurance agent to make ends meet. Everything was getting into a normal routine (if you call having scheduled prison visits on your calendar normal). I can't even believe I did all this. Now looking back.... OMG. Anyway, life was better. Until he was released from prison only 11 months later.

Let me add a small side note here. The person I thought I was marrying was not the actual person I got. I had known the drug addict way before he came to be the drug addict. I dated him in high school and took dance classes from his mom when I was in elementary school. So, we went way back. I had no clue about drugs before we married. I never did a drug and was never around anyone who did drugs. I was clueless when it came to things like that. I knew he had gotten on drugs and I knew he had been to rehab. Little did I know drugs had changed him completely. Yet, I wanted so bad to save him. To dig out that person I once knew.

When he was released from prison, I have to admit I was excited. I just knew in my heart that the old person I once knew would be coming home. That lasted about 3 days. He was not off drugs. He was getting drugs quicker in prison than he could on the street. On this particular day, the drug addict used our son in his game of mental hell. I found pills on the floor and started screaming at him that the baby (now 4 yrs old) could pick them up and eat them. He grabbed the pills out of my hand, picked up our son and while smiling this evil smile, told our son that mommy is crazy because she eats these pills. He was explaining to our son that I was a drug addict because I eat these pills and he should be scared of me. I couldn't believe what I was hearing. Being familiar with the drug addicts behavior, I went in the bedroom and called his mom to come get the baby. I explained what was happening and I was scared for the baby to be there. She agreed and came to pick up my son. Little did I know that would be the last time I would ever have my son again.

If this story has touched you in any way, please follow me for more stories to come! Thank you for taking time out of your life to read about mine.....

addiction
1

About the Creator

Denise Harris

I have always wanted to be able to tell my life story. I have survived abuse from a drug addict and the trauma of having a child taken by people with political power and money. Thanks for taking time to read my story. - Denise Harris

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.