Psyche logo

Goodbye Letter

Leaving Toxicity Behind

By K.J. DelmontPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

I lived in Ontario in a very toxic environment. A dark cloud constantly loomed over my family’s house. I never felt loved growing up and it has affected my relationships today with my immediate family. After being emotionally abused basically my entire life, I created a noose in my closet September of 2018. I really could not live anymore and I so badly wanted all the pain to be gone. I couldn’t deal with life every day anymore. It was so exhausting and far too difficult. I wasn’t even living my life; I was just existing. I didn’t see the point of staying anymore.

I’ve always lived a life different than others and different from my siblings and that’s always made me an outcast. A mistfit. I never felt like I belonged. I lost all my friends and all I had left my was dying dog.

Once my dog died October of 2018, I thought of that noose. I thought of joining her on the other side. She was my best friend… my only friend. I knew I was in trouble if I didn’t get out of that house of horrors. I needed to make a change or I’d do something I know I'd regret when five seconds of life are left while I dangle and it’s too late to go back.

Luckily, what kept me going for a couple more months was the fact that I still had to write my memoir. I could not leave (I cannot leave) this world without my story told. And, a couple weeks after Lola died, my parents bought a new beagle puppy. It instilled joy from the depths of my soul that had been buried by so much negativity. I still felt like I was drowning, but this time, I found a bit more energy to keep me treading above the water a little longer.

It’s a cliche quote, but you know the one that goes, “if a flower doesn’t bloom, fix the environment in which it grows, not the flower”? Well, I figured that’s exactly what I needed to do. No one wanted me in that house. I had no friends. I felt so unwanted. A burden. I had a lot of healing and growing to do but it couldn’t be done in that house — or in Ontario for that matter.

So I spontaneously booked a flight to British Columbia. The last place I truly remember feeling inner happiness and peace was years ago when I lived in coastal BC. I had nothing to lose; I had already lost everything. I had no ties left to Ontario, either. Lola died, I didn’t have a boyfriend or a job that required my presence. If I wanted to heal and if I wanted my family to be a family again, I knew I had to remove myself from that environment. It was time to grow.

I didn’t tell anybody I was leaving and the day of my flight left a letter on my bedroom floor and flew across the country. None of my family knew I was leaving. The longer I stayed, the more at risk I was of killing myself... I had no option. Here is me reading you the letter I left my parents.

*I wear a mask when I share my stories because they are personal and I wish to remain anonymous*

Thank you for watching/listening ♡

Love & light,

KJ

depression
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.