Psyche logo

Forever Began

BPD – Beautiful Person Disorder

By Megan gallantPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

I am in love with THE most perfectly imperfect human being!! <3

Let me explain that statement. One year ago, I was on dating apps looking for true love. Cheesy line after cheesy line and date after date, I started noticing that it was very difficult for me to make true connections with people that go beyond friendship. I thought... “Man, there must be something wrong with absolutely everyone out there and I am wayyy too picky.” So one morning, I made the decision to close down all my dating apps and be alone for however long it would take for me to find love. In the process of closing down my POF account, I noticed that someone had “liked” my profile. I decided to read this beautiful girl's profile and I just knew I had to message this girl. Her smile had blown me away and so had her eyes. There was just something about her.

It started off flirty and goofy. I used super clever puns and she understood them, which was a plus. We exchanged numbers the same morning and then kept texting each other for a few hours. I got lucky because that same day she had an event with her work which entails tasting a bunch of different spirits. Let’s just say... she got wasted. She had warned me that she would FaceTime me afterwards. If I’m being honest, I thought she was going to chicken out. To my surprise, she Face Timed me when she got home and man was she drunk. I was buckling up for a fun time, I was thinking to myself, “This is going to be hilarious and possibly super unattractive.” During that video chat, she showed me sides of her that would only normally come out months into a relationship. She started giving me her relationship history and talking about how her last one was detrimental to her mental health an was extremely abusive. She also proceeded to explain to me that she has Borderline Personality Disorder (also known as BPD) and how it can affect her moods quite often. Never knowing when and sometimes even why they would happen.

I went to school to study some psychology and mental health disorders along with a bunch of other stuff. I had some knowledge about BPD but I had only ever known one other person with BPD and I had not learned or seen anything of the “moods” that would happen. Plus, everyone is very different. I had no idea what it sounded like, looked like or felt like. I was mind blown by the beautiful sides I had just seen from this woman, and the incredible strength it must have taken her to pull through in the past and every single day just by the stories she would tell me. To be completely honest, if someone would have told me all about their exes and stuff before even meeting, I probably would have ghosted them. Not because I think that there is something wrong with them, but because of the fear of the unknown. Something about this girl kept me smiling for hours and had me so excited I felt like I was getting that Disney themed eight-year-old birthday party all over again with the Pocahontas cake.

That same night we FaceTimed again until we said goodnight. I knew as soon as I put the phone down and went to go to sleep that I was already going to protect this woman with all my might. I was going to treat her with respect, and the respect she DESERVES. I knew in that moment, that I was going to love her with every inch of my growing heart. I decided to start a blog, not because I think I’m a great writer and definitely not to get pity or attention from the material and stories I will be writing about. I am starting a blog because BPD has a lot of negativity attached to it, especially when it comes to dating someone with BPD. I want to break that negative barrier and I want to show the world the strength behind the people who face their mental health head on and who embrace it. They are not monsters or psychotic, they are people who have more for us to love. They are a part of what makes this world go round.

personality disorder
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.