Psyche logo

Food Addiction

How I Am Overcoming My Addiction to Food

By Meranda WatleyPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like

I had been overweight my entire life, well just about. I vividly remember leaving the second-grade school year as a tiny seven-year-old girl and starting the third-grade school year as a fat kid. There was no traumatic event, no major change, I just got fat. I always loved to eat, and I guess I really committed to that love during that particular summer because I gained weight, a lot of weight, especially for a seven-year-old. I used to sneak food, grab a sleeve of saltine crackers from the kitchen cabinet and run to my room and eat the entire sleeve without my mother knowing. I’d grab anything I could find, chips, crackers, cookies, even dry cereal if there was nothing else. It wasn’t necessarily the quality of the food but the quantity. I wanted to eat as much as I possibly could and all at once. I now know this is binge eating, but as a seven-year-old I just thought I liked how food tasted. I loved the feeling of eating, I loved being overstuffed, I loved the actual act of eating food. This continued well into my teens and adulthood. I gained and lost hundreds of pounds in my life. My days were filled with either binging or starving myself until I would inevitably binge again. It was a full-blown addiction. I obsessed about food all day, I thought about what I wanted to eat, what I was going to eat and then when I finally ate it I was wracked with guilt and self-loathing. Something was wrong.

I wasn’t enjoying life, food was all I cared about. I tried every single diet there was, I tried fasting and cabbage soup, low carb, high carb, low fat, no fat, calorie restriction, you name it, I tried it. I even spent $1500 getting hypnotized to stop my binge eating. It worked for about three weeks, then I was right back into my old habits. I tried acceptance, maybe I’m just meant to be fat, this is just who I am. No matter what I tried, I wasn’t happy and I knew a lot of my unhappiness stemmed from my addiction to food and binge eating. I read books, I went to an overeaters anonymous meeting, I journaled…still nothing was stopping me. I kept thinking there must be SOMETHING I am missing. There must be a magic pill or a protein shake that I can try to cure me of this. While I searched for the “cure” my weight continued to sky rocket. I stopped weighing myself when I hit 350 lbs. I just didn’t want to know. I didn’t want to know what I weighed because I couldn’t do anything about it.

I woke up every morning in pain, it physically hurt to get out of bed and walk. I had heel spurs and my knees cracked, my ankles swelled, and I always looked puffy. I don’t know how it clicked or why it clicked but I knew this wasn’t how I wanted to live anymore. I have two sons, they deserved more than what I was giving as a mom and I deserved to live a more extensive life. I deserved to feel free. But how? I still didn’t know. So, I made a promise to myself to do the best I could do every single day. The first day that I didn’t binge felt amazing, the second felt better and so on and so forth. I stopped drinking soda, even diet. That was the biggest challenge for me. I was getting absolutely zero nutrition from it, so I gave it up cold turkey. I started walking, at first just down the street or even just around my house. Then I walked a little farther and a little farther. It hurt, it was physically painful to move but I did it because it was painful to NOT move. I wasn’t hoping to be 120 lbs. or look like a Victoria’s Secret model, I was just trying to feel better. Binging no longer felt good, it no longer felt good to live in my body. I have lost over 165 lbs. I still struggle with binge eating and food addiction. Every. Single. Day. I struggle. I would LOVE to say it’s been two years since a binge, but that’s not true. It’s been two days, the difference is, now when I binge I take a deep breath and I put it behind me and I hope to do better tomorrow. That’s all I can do, is hope to do a little better every day. There is no magic pill, not hypnotist, no special diet….it comes from within me everyday. Everyday I make the choice as to how I am going to live, I am far from perfect, but I am so much better than I was.

eating
Like

About the Creator

Meranda Watley

I am a free spirit who loves adventures and exploration.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.