Psyche logo

Fixing Anxiety Without Medication Part 2

Continuing to take care of yourself

By Richlynn ArthurPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
Fixing Anxiety Without Medication Part 2
Photo by Ian Espinosa on Unsplash

If you haven't read my first article, please do as soon as possible. It will be of great help and with end where we begin in this one. After I finally got a hold of myself and figured out how to calm myself down I realized, as will you, how much time I had lost worrying about things I couldn't control. Whether it be the dishes, laundry, or putting something off that could be done today. I blamed people for my worry when they had no control over it. I never even saw this issue until I went to my first group meeting. I had absolutely NO CONTROL over my feelings which screwed up my entire life. I made horrible decisions, financially and in my home life. I was the problem and no one could fix that but me. As I said, I had wasted a lot of time. That time was over. I started small with doing things for myself to keep myself within serenity. How do you start, you ask. Here are three ways to do that.

1.) Workout Daily

I know this seems like a lot and it is. I hadn't worked out for 5 years prior to trying this. But after reading The Power of Now, I came to this revelation that I was still living in the past in my sweatpants, although comfy, and bitching about it. I was the only one that could change the way I felt about my body and my frame of mind. So, I pulled myself out of bed at 6:00am prior to work and did a 10 ab video. That inspired me to research some more 10 minute videos for the rest of the week. After 30 minutes, I had a full 2 weeks of workouts ready for that 6:00am drag out of bed. This is now my time for me and I enjoy getting up at the ass crack of dawn. It is quiet. I don't have to worry about anyone saying, "Seriously, mom." I have no one else to tend to but myself. This was the key. If you can't take care of yourself, you can't take care of other people. At least not your best care. Don't worry about joining any gyms. There are tons of groups on social media that can help as well. Just get your ass up and do it. Trust me you will thank me. Plus endorphins make you happy.

2.) Eat Healthy

Eating healthy is harder than it looks. I am a lover of cheese. Hell, my son is named Kolby. I love anything that is bad for you. Easy eating is my thing. Cooking over a stove for an hour, not so much. Cooking for hours is a HUGE misconception of eating healthy. This was my set back. I just didn't have the time, I would say. I timed it one time and it actually takes about 20 minutes less to prepare a healthy meal. So I kicked myself in the ass and got to it. I had no idea where to start with this eating thing once committing to it. First thing is did is drink 8 oz glasses of water 8 times a day. After a workout, it is nothing to down 16 oz or more. Another tip, anything that is pasta or chips change it to a vegetable. Bell peppers are a great substitute for tortilla chips. I went to YouTube and started searching for crock pot recipes for healthy eating. After an hour, I had a crock pot meal for 2 weeks. If doing a 2 weeks is to much, just do a week. This way you won't go into the store everyday and temp yourself. I have literally spent $50 due to nothing in 5 minutes just because I could. Don't do that. After eating healthy for about 3 days, you will see a heighten in your energy and your mood levels will be easier to control. When I eat like shit, I am a shitty person. Short tempered, sleepy. When I eat healthy, I have a lot more energy and I can transition a lot easier from one thing to another without stress or anxiety. I will post a few of the easy recipes I did at the beginning to help if needed. I know I needed help.

3.) Focus on one thing at a time

Keep all things very simple. If you are doing laundry. Just think of laundry. If you are watching a movie. DON'T GET UP! Pay attention to the TV show. Write down what happens if you need to keep you mind on the plot. This was my hardest thing to do ever in my life. As anxiety takes up your life, you honestly believe you can take it all on your own. News flash. You can't. I would start on dishes and moved to the laundry and before you knew it I had a half fed dog and and overflowing sink. Then I would get upset that there was a mess. It was a disaster. When following each step to the end, you accomplish more. This will ease stress and make the flow of each action to the next very fluent. Start on your chore list. Once you accomplish this step, it will generate to your work and family life. Juggling the kids will seem easier. Just take your time and life in the now. Not what you could be doing.

anxiety
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.