Psyche logo

Figuring out I was maladaptive daydreaming

Learning about the condition and how I began doing it in my teens

By Annie CurranPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

Recently I discovered the condition known as Maladaptive Daydreaming, the condition causes intense daydreaming that distracts a person from their real life. Many times, real-life events trigger day dreams. These events can include:

  • Topics of conversation
  • Sensory stimuli such as noises or smells
  • Physical experiences

From some of the symptoms I looked up, the ones I corresponded with an overwhelming desire to continue daydreaming and daydreaming for lengthy periods (many minutes to hours). There were about 9 symptoms so I made the assumption that my degree of the condition isn’t as severe.

I started Daydreaming when I was in year 8, that was when I started getting bullied. I began daydreaming because I wasn’t enjoying the reality I was currently living in. I started daydreaming when I would take the bus home and sleep a lot at night. Eventually my daydreaming became more extreme, I would start daydreaming while walking to the bus stop and then on the bus. By the time I got to year 11 I was daydreaming in some of my classes, to the point that I was so far in my daydreaming that people had to shake things in front of my face to get me out of that state. I was even able to daydream like that during a half marathon, it made the run so much easier because I was able to black out while running cause I was caught up in a daydream that I didn’t realise where I was running. Only until I game out of the daydream and noticed I was further along on the route.

As I started heading to university, my extreme daydreaming began to reduce. Mainly the reason was that it was affecting my close relationship with my best friend. It never felt that I was listening to her problems because I was so caught up in my head. I learnt to not be so stuck in my head and in my daydreams during my time at University. The fact I was meeting more people and doing new activities, I just didn’t have a lot of time to daydream. I would only do it as I’m heading to university and back home when I am by myself.

I’ve realised now that I do love day dreaming but it causes me to fantasise about people too quickly which causes me to get very clingy when I like someone. It also makes me overthink a lot which results in me becoming quite anxious about different things in my life. It’s a double edge sword.

The dependence on fantasy of reality I prefer from time to time. For example I am a person that gets really attached to people I like. By daydreaming the fantasy of having a boyfriend in your head instead of thinking about a real person. I never feel I have to worry about wasting my mind on a person that doesn’t want me. Sounds sad, I know. Do whatever it takes to cope. This is also my first type of addiction because I enjoyed it so much to the point I would daydream across roads, potentially risking my life. Lastly I forgot to mention that my maladaptive daydream would only activate when I’m listening to music, that’s how I also got addicted to listening to music. Both of them combined transitioned me to another world where anything can happen. I still to this day never leave the house without my headphones because music is life.

Sometimes I wish I still had the condition because running isn’t as fun as it used to be. At least I can cycle.

disorder
2

About the Creator

Annie Curran

Just an amateur writer giving personal experiences and advice about different topics. Writing everything that comes to my mind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.