Psyche logo

Feel Free To Live Your Life

What means to be free to you? Do you have ever felt free?

By Agnes LaurensPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by Victor Freitas from Pexels

Feeling free feels amazing. I felt it a few times. Not every day. But that is fine. There were a few events in my life that happened, and that I don’t feel free, and didn’t feel free. So, I built a wall around myself. Only those I trust I will let in. Even then, I am really careful they won’t betray my trust.

I have given people too many chances, and so many of them didn’t earn my trust, but I let it all happen to me because I thought it was like it had to be, that people should treat me like shit.

I never had positivity during my life, as I had been through bullying, sexual abuse, manipulation, and gaslighting. I thought that this was the way people should treat others.

Unfortunately, I was mistaken.

I read and heard stories from happy people, how they did it and so on. What was it that they did to be happy?

Not that I wasn’t happy: I have my children, I have my violin, which I play a lot and love to do, I have my writing, and so much more, love to be in nature and enjoy it, love to walk, love to compose music, and so on. What did others do to be happy, and what was it that I didn’t feel happy?

After my first therapy session, I realized that all the events that had happened in my life took their toll. Which I didn’t know until my therapist asked about it. He could see something, I haven’t seen it in all those years in my life.

It was a shock in the first place, and a relief in the second place. A shock that someone else needed to see that, while I thought that I knew myself, and a relief that I knew what could be the cause of not feeling free.

Set yourself free

One important thing is to set free yourself. When my process began to set myself free, it was a huge relief, but I also knew it was a long process, which I am still being in this process. It feels a lot freer than I expected it would be at this point in the process.

Go into therapy

In the first place, I feel freer because I went into therapy. Talking about it feels relieved, and be more content with myself. I still have a long road to go, but this feeling makes me happier.

Know your passions

The most important thing to realize is what your passions are. Would you like to do something with your passion in your profession? If yes, then take action and do what you can do and make it happen. This pandemic also helped me realize what passions I have, and I took action. I am still in the research mode, but it helped me to take action. This set me free as well.

Give yourself a dream to go for

This is something to do with your passion. If your passion to become a writer, and that is what you dream of all your life, but all life long you worked in the cooperate world, then set yourself goals when your dream becomes reality.

Make small goals you can achieve

When you have small goals you can achieve within a day, week, month, or year, the better you achieve, the bigger the goal of yours. I need to play and practice the violin every day to achieve what I want: becoming a violinist myself. But I have to set a goal for each piece I practice, such as what are the difficulties in this passage, where do I play the wrong notes, etc… Then I set my goal: by ten this morning I practiced each note separately, then slowly the way the composer wrote (the right rhythm), then increasing the tempo as the composer meant.

Compliment yourself

Another important factor I implemented myself the last year, is to compliment an achievement or something else that worked out for you and loved to do. It helped me to believe in myself again. You should be proud of yourself.

therapy
Like

About the Creator

Agnes Laurens

Agnes Laurens is a writer. She writes for the local newspaper. Agnes lives with her daughters. Writing is, like playing the violin, her passion. She writes about anything that crosses her mind. Follow her on Medium.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.