Psyche logo

Emotions

Resume not rewind

By Random ChatteringPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

Ever since the moment that we took our first breaths, our lives had been filled with emotions. Emotions that determine the way we eat, dress, and talk, but also the way we study, interact with others. Most importantly, the decisions we make on a daily basis, that shape our identities. It is not easy to admit that sometimes we tend to focus on ourselves too much, to the point that we lose our ability to learn from our mistakes and grow. And once we start to compare ourselves to the people around us, we become unsatisfied with our own achievements. We have focused so much on our physical health this year, and left mental health on the back burners.

While we were quarantined at home, not only were we physically confined but so were our minds. And the smallest conflict could snowball into huge outbursts of emotions, while all of that originates from the feeling of out of control. But we had the time to learn so much about ourselves, and our perceptions of the people around us. It had literally changed the way we express ourselves. For example, I could never imagine that I would be sitting here, typing this out, if someone told me a year ago. The different emotions that I experience on a daily basis somehow makes me think that I could write a book about them. So here I am, just casually throwing this rant online.

On the bright side, I have become braver at taking on new ventures in my life, creatively speaking. I have always been an overthinker, and someone who is restless. This creative urge of mine has led me to drafts of short stories, binge-watching Netflix shows, and internal conversations with myself. I have become more emotionally invested, to the point that sometimes I could not comprehend the person I was before this year. This year is truly a year that no one has experienced before, and therefore there is no way for anyone to come up with a perfect answer to any of the countless questions that might come up in your minds all the time.

I have found myself more vulnerable to great mood swings and contemplations on a daily basis, and I have discovered more about how these different emotions could shape our everyday lives. We are used to living and engaging with our friends and families while retaining some personal spaces, and when that has been taken away from us, it could become a hard toll on anyone. Speaking from experience, I have found myself more agitated and flustered than ever before. But also more calm in certain situations, due to predictability.

My point being, that emotions have great impacts on our lives, so the way we choose to confront them is crucial to our wellbeing overall. Whether we choose to contain them or to spill them all at once, is a very personal choice, but it would have impact on the people around us as well. It is best to steer ourselves away from any excessive behaviours and expressions. To look and think about everything in moderation and at ease. I have learned great lessons from practising that for the past few months. No one is perfect after all, and we should all learn to appreciate the imperfections, instead of choosing to blame all the time. It is all about what we choose to believe in, and that makes all the difference in the world. There is no timeline in self-care and healing, and kindness is the key to balance in life.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Random Chattering

ins acct @randomchattering

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.