Psyche logo

Embarrassing ADHD Confessions

#ADHDsupport

By Nancy DPublished 6 years ago 5 min read
1

I was diagnosed with ADHD just before I went to college. My parents and I were heavily realized because it also explains my emotional outbursts. I didn't know much about ADHD at the time, but since then I have learned that it explains a lot about me in general. In fact, my whole life has been a tornado of chaos trying to cope with why I can't do what my peers seem to be able to do so gracefully. I know no one's life is perfect... or even easy. I just wish that my peers understood why I am different.

Messy Room

My bedroom is always covered in stuff. From old mugs covering countertops to clothes and bags covering the floor. The only time I consider it to have gone 'too far' is when something starts to rot causing a huge smell or there's too much stuff on the ground to walk anymore.

The worst it's ever gotten was probably when my dad found a pile of mold in my apartment that I can only assume used to be an apple. The reason why this is so bad is because I am allergic to mold... I had a chronic cough that lasted for months after I graduated that I can only assume was from the molded pile. Now every time that I develop a cough with no other symptoms... I immediately look for mold.

My parents can't stand it, but they have been more lenient now that I have learned to keep the kitchen and other rooms in the house clean.

I drank spoiled milk.

My apartment in college got so bad that I had two mini cartons of milk out on my desk. One was new that I had just bought at the convenience store... and one I bought from the same convenient store not so recently. While doing homework I picked up the wrong one and well... you know. It was already starting to thicken and turn into custard.

I took one whole gulp before I realized my horrible mistake.

I spat the rest out immediately back into the carton and went to the bathroom to puke. My body didn't feel the need to yet, I forced it. I rinsed out my mouth and brushed my teeth excessively then just kinda stared in the mirror for a while in disbelief.

It was a disgusting experience and a huge wake-up call for how bad I let my apartment get. I know I'm not the only ADHD person with horror stories like this, which does make me feel better... But I know that 'Nero-Typical' people would never understand my ADHD messy house and how I ever let it get THAT bad.

I threw out my wallet...

There have been several times that I couldn't find my wallet. Usually when this happens, it's withering in my camera bag or in bed hiding under the sheets somewhere. Now I have a tracking device in it so something like this probably won't happen again.

However, I did actually throw out my wallet in the garbage once. It was in a plastic bag from the dollar store where I put it when I was shopping. Then later, when I was cleaning my room, I used the same bag to put garbage in...

Once I realized it was gone it took a really long time to find it. As time went by while I was looking for it, I was trying really hard to avoid looking in the garbage bags that were still in the garage.

As more time went by, I started to realize more and more that they were in those garbage bags. I actually managed to throw my wallet in the garbage. Luckily, the garbage bags were still on site.

Sleeping In

Okay, so this one doesn't quite fit the same disaster of a bedroom theme as the rest... but my wreck of a sleep schedule is definitely caused by my ADHD. I have to remind myself never to schedule an appointment with someone before noon.

Without my ADHD medication, I could easily sleep in till four or five in the afternoon.

In fact, my time management is so bad that I write down appointments 15 minutes before they actually are.

Thank you!

Thank you for reading my article, I hope you enjoyed it. If so, please feel free to read my other articles here on Vocal. I write about both personal and political things, so whatever you are looking for, I’ve probably written about it.

About the Author

Yes, I realize I have the same name as an amateur sleuth. No, I haven’t read the books… although I have played most of the Nancy Drew games. I am simply someone who is addicted to writing. In the day I work as a photographer and waitress… but at night I write blogs for everyone to enjoy. Does that make me a superhero? Probably not… but I can dream, right?

The truth is, I have been writing my whole life and I don’t think I could ever stop. Sometimes my writing gets real and I have been told by a couple of people that I have actually helped them before. Other times I just write about the top ten of something, which can be really fun to write!

My personal interests include eating pizza, playing video games, and cuddling with my dog. I have only recently started playing FPS games, but I have a long history in PC games. When it comes to video games, I’m quite the hipster. I like popular Indie games and love video games that almost no one has ever heard of.


Join the adventure.

I would really love it if you joined the adventure by reading my blogs. I always make sure to have exciting new content to really make it an adventure! You can always leave feedback on my Facebook page and even send me a message or two. Heck, send me your blog page and we follow each other. Life can get lonely sometimes, so let's try to make things at least little better by making a little online community.

So what do you say? Want to join the adventure? :)

Want to read more?

My blogs and articles can be about anything really... I do write a lot after all. However, I find my self-writing about ADHD, photography, and self-help a lot.

To keep updated on my blogs please feel free to follow me on Facebook and Twitter!

Twitter @BlogsNancy

Facebook @NancyDBlogs

disorder
1

About the Creator

Nancy D

Facebook @NancyDBlogging

Twitter @BlogsNancy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.