Psyche logo

Eight Quick Lessons Learned

Agony & Grace the untold truths.

By Bruce Curle `Published 2 years ago 4 min read
3
Photo by Warren Curle 2021

Eight Quick Lessons Learned from “Agony & Grace”

Recently I opened up in my writing about my private residential school experience.

After forty years, I exposed some of the physical, mental and sexual abuse I went through in Grade Eight. Here are some lessons learned.

• People believed I was Indigenous. My favourite quote from someone after they read my short piece was, ‘WHAT, your White, and they did this to you?”

Lesson One – People want to believe only certain ethnic groups get abused, especially in a school setting.

( The school I attended abused all races and backgrounds. )

• Politicians will sometimes read your story but get it very wrong. One very polite mayor of a Canadian City felt sorry for my pain and suffering and admired my courage in telling my story. The mayor concluded, “If you are in __________, come by for tea with your delegation.

Lesson Two – Politicians are busy people and seem to skim things or get advised poorly.

( I am a delegation of one. I wish I could tell my story correctly across Canada )

• Without mentioning the school's name, many knew the school I was referencing.

Lesson Three – The abuses of this group of residential/boarding schools were known to police, social workers, media, lawyers and others for decades.

(I have learned one or two “Masters” had been prosecuted- One of my abusers is celebrated)

• I worked hard to have Indigenous people read my story before making it public. I wanted my story to inform more Canadians about their story.

Lesson Four – Indigenous Groups have welcomed my story and are supportive.

• I worried about what my family would say or experience me telling my story.

Lesson Five – My family is very supportive, and I have learned to trust them more with my hidden shame and abuse.

• I worried a severe auto accident would end my life as I knew it.

Lesson Six – My concussion led me to relive strong memories of my youth.

I could tell my story and help tell a much larger Canadian Story.

• If I write it, will it be read.

Lesson Seven – Strong true Canadian Stories will be read and may effect change.

• Will my story be believed?

Lesson Eight – Telling the truth, I let my spirit feel free.

“Ye shall know the truth, and the truth shall set you free” (John 8:32)

Martin Luther King Jr quoted this.

“The truth is incontrovertible. Malice may attack it, ignorance may deride it, but in the end, it is there. :

Winston Churchill

“What I know for sure is speaking your truth is the most powerful tool we .have.”

Oprah Winfrey

“The truth will set you free, but first, it will piss you off.”

Joe Klaas, Twelve Steps to Happiness

  • Final Thoughts

“My Agony & Grace” was an article about some of my personal experiences in a boarding school / residential school in Alberta, Canada.

You may find the article on Vocal.Media.com or Medium, and please take a moment if you have not read it.

It is worth your time and is under a four-minute read. I encourage you to share it with others.

**Should you have experienced abuse in such a school setting, you are not alone. Until I started looking into creating the article, I did not know how many people attended the school I did and suffered. **

Please consider subscribing to Medium.com and read some brilliant writers and articles.

I send out a special thank you to the following;

The journalists who read and forwarded my story.

The actors & actresses, and film professionals who read my story.

The politicians and their staff that commented and read my story

I invited fifty politicians in Canada to respond to my article.

(4) Mayors –

(1) MLA –

(1) Premier

(1) Federal Party Leader

(1) Federal M.P

(0) Members of the Canadian Senate invited responded.

God Bless those who found the three minutes'; you are all appreciated.

A special thank you to my Indigenous Brothers and Sisters who read and supported the article.

A special thank you also to my family, friends, and all who have been a support. I have felt your love and support.

Thank you to everyone that has read my article and shared it with others.

how to
3

About the Creator

Bruce Curle `

A Fifty something male that enjoys writing short stories, scripts and poetry. I have had many different types of work over my lifetime and consider myself fairly open minded and able to speak on many topics.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.