Psyche logo

Don’t Say Rude Things About People Who Take Medication

If I'm right, we split my education down the middle and I can also get scholarships.

By Iria Vasquez-PaezPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

To start off a conversation with someone you haven’t seen in years by saying “Oye loca” is plain rude. This means “Hey listen, crazy.” Oh I’m sorry, I finally have my hereditary illness under control. The person who did this was a family member and that is who I’m ranting about. It took me years to find the right meds that treat both bipolar 1 and schizophrenia, hence my diagnosis of schizoaffective. I finally got a chance to see a real psychiatrist, and not someone that makes you wait a lot just because I can talk about more esoteric subjects with them. Are you scared of me for the fact I have gained self-confidence and I practice witchcraft?

Only because a self-confident Iria scares you to death now does it? You can no longer bring me down so easily, now can you? A nice t-shirt for my t-shirt business will go a long way for helping me heal from this one. Are you just unaware that you hurt the poor crazies’ feelings? You probably didn’t realize what you did because narcissism also runs in our family. Or don’t you notice your own? The world doesn’t revolve around you, narc.

Maybe if you paid attention to other people in a genuine way, you would notice. People who take their medication do so out of necessity. We need our medication to survive. I also happen to need insulin in order to survive. Are you going to pick on me for that too? Are you going to be an ableist thug, to bitch at me for taking my medication in front of you? Don’t give me shit for taking my medication for goodness sake. Schizophrenia runs in our family and it is clear that your own do not have it.

But another kid could wind up having it. This is why I’m disclosing that I have had pediatric onset schizophrenia. Nobody knows about this in our family, nobody, because of certain people not wanting to disclose. I however, have talked to people in private about this. I want some to know that there is a risk. I inherited a heart condition from grandma that I know nothing about. I need more information about this. It would be nice to have some since, clearly I have been kept in the dark on purpose, willfully and deliberately.

I will not be disclosing my disability until I feel good and comfortable doing so and my real IQ is out. My IQ is much higher than anybody has ever remarked on but then you’ve been brainwashed to believe otherwise. It is very frustrating for me to have passed every single grade in school without thinking about it too much. Yes, people are threatened by me, which is ridiculous. Particularly men, and since by now that I’ve thought about becoming a psychiatrist, to some of my mentally ill friends, this makes me the enemy. Some of whom have deleted me for no good reason other than I do not allow people to besmirch western medicine on my Facebook.

Talking talk like autism is caused by vaccines, that pisses me off. Autism is genetic and neurobiological. They can only be taught to cope with it by learning good people skills, the way you and I would learn math or piano. This is another lie that you were told, I was never on the autism spectrum. I managed to test out of the autism spectrum completely. I was never even ADD. I’m just a neuro-typical schizophrenic although it could have happened that I might have had autism although that was never proven until I subjected myself to the scrutiny of psychological testing. Oh loaded one, if I’m right about other people having schizophrenia and having piss poor insight, you owe me my education on a platter, split evenly down the middle 50-50.

schizophrenia
Like

About the Creator

Iria Vasquez-Paez

I have a B.A. in creative writing from San Francisco State. Can people please donate? I'm very low-income. I need to start an escape the Ferengi plan.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.