Psyche logo

Don’t stop cold turkey

Bubbie

By JennleyPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
My brother Richard or Bubbie

This is my brother Richard and he was born September 26, 1979. Bubbie was the only boy out of 4 children and he was a great brother even though sometimes I know we got on his nerves with him being the only boy and all. We were very close because we were step stairs children because we were born right behind each other so we went through a lot together. My brother had a drug problem for years but he was a Highly functional drug attic that went to work, paid his bills and child support. It seems that he had it under control but as long as he continued to take the drug he was he good and he didn’t know the danger of stopping cold turkey or without getting help and neither did we. In November 2014 right before thanksgiving my brother stopped take drugs with out getting help. Bubbie was showing clear signs that something was wrong but because of my lack of experience dealing with drug addiction I thought he was just stressed out and that he would snap out of it. However on Thanksgiving my family came to my apartment for dinner and my brother was acting different like snapping on people for no reason. Finally he went outside on my balcony to get some air. My family noticed that he was claiming up on the balcony so me and my little sister went outside to get him to come back inside. My brother jumped off the balcony and broke his Neck at age 35 he was paralyzed from the chest down. My brother had a habit that began when he was in school and he continued that habit for many years so when he stopped taking the drug it caused a Chemical in balance in his brain. I believe that was a good thing my brother did when he stopped taking drugs, I also believe that if he would have gotten help, then he would have been in a safe place so he couldn’t hurt himself. Bubbie did lose his life when he jumped off the balcony but he did stop living his life because he was ashamed of what happened . My brother lived for 5 years after he had his accident sadly my brother passed away February 18 2019 at the age of 39. My brother went through a lot in that 5 years but he fought to stay alive and he was drug free for 5 years. I miss my brother, he was a good man but he had a bad habit. If you are someone you know has a drug problem and want to stop please go get help so you can stop in a safe place. Don’t stop cold turkey without any help.

addiction
Like

About the Creator

Jennley

Hello I go by Jennley and I was a preschool teacher but I lost my job due to the corona virus so now I drive for DoorDash. I have always enjoyed music and I love to sing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.