Psyche logo

Depression Tells Me To Write

It also tells me I have nothing worth saying

By BilliePublished 2 years ago 2 min read
1
Depression Tells Me To Write
Photo by Alice Simkin on Unsplash

Depression tells me to write. It also tells me I have nothing worth writing.

When did you accept that you have depression?

That’s a funny thing to admit, isn’t it? You accept that you have depression to help alleviate the symptoms.

I thought I would no longer have problems once I divorced my abusive ex-husband. I thought I lay in bed all day because of him, because of feeling trapped. Defeated.

  • I wish I didn’t get dispirited.
  • I wish I could eat every day, instead of eating every three days sometimes.
  • I wish I slept every night when my head hit that pillow.
  • I wish I could consistently enjoy what I know has brought me joy.

I’m still depressed. I’m still anxious about things I have no control over.

But I could have some control over my depression, which would make breathing easier.

Could becomes can and… I can have some control over my depression.

I don’t lay in bed all day anymore. But I do take naps with meditation apps every day!!

No Joke! I know I will climb into bed at some point during the day because I’m overwhelmed with life.

By Daniel Gaffey on Unsplash

Instead of laying there, having that negative internal chatter in my brain, I’m choosing to listen to positive, uplifting, and inspiring meditations. Gamma brain waves meditation at just the right frequency can change your whole mood.

I’ve been rewiring my brain with meditation apps. Especially the Synctuition App.

And No — This is not a promotional piece. I just wanted to share which one I have benefitted from.

It’s not just the app that changed me. With a lot of EMDR, Eye Movement Desensitization & Reprocessing, Cognitive Behavioral Therapy, medication, and my openness and willingness to try ANYTHING, I changed.

I’m choosing to fill my mind with positivity instead of the damaging beliefs I once held.

I accept that I have depression. I accept that I can choose to either alleviate my symptoms or let the negative chitter chatter take over and send me down a dark abyss.

You can bet I’m going to lay down after I write this and put my headphones in! After I get up, I’ll edit and get it ready for publishing.

My children are old enough to understand that mama needs her meditation naps. It means they get a healthier, better mama.

depression
1

About the Creator

Billie

Single mama of 5 🥰 Writing helps process trauma and emotions. I love to write about mental health and offer insight into moms with mental health disorders. Mama put your mask on first!!

I help others find their niche and audiences.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Helen Stuart2 years ago

    I can relate so well to what you're saying here, it sounds like you have some awesome tools, though. I am doing good just to write this comment to you much less write an entire article, keep going, you are amazing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.