Psyche logo

Depression

It's okay.

By Emily RoyalPublished 7 years ago 2 min read
Like

Having a mental disorder can be really hard. It makes it harder to cure because so many people suffer from mental disorders such as depression but everyone copes with it differently. You often feel like you are the only one in the entire world feeling the way you are when in actual fact there are 350 million reported cases of depression.

I have never told anyone that I have depression, I am scared and embarrassed. But I shouldn't be and because of this I am not getting any help. I cope by withdrawing myself from the world, reading and locking myself in my room. I know I need help and I want it but I can't bring myself to ask for it. No one around me suspects I have a mental illness and if you think about it that is quiet terrifying. If I hide that I am mentally ill then so do others.

Depression can hit really hard. Even though it is a mental illness it can physically effect you so badly that sometimes you don't even have enough energy to get out of bed. This generation has made so much progress with accepting and helping people to speak out about mental illness but not nearly enough as we should.

It is okay to have a mental illness. It is okay to be scared but it is not okay to feel like you don't deserve help. Everyone has a right to get help for the mental health. You don't have to straight up tell someone how you're feeling if you don'twant to. Just take baby steps for yourself to start with. It is okay if youcan't get out of bed today, maybe if you manage just to get a glass of water to stay hydrated. It is okay if you don't have enough energy to shower or brush your hair or do you teeth, you can always just have some cheeringgum and tie your hair up. It is okay if you need to go home from school or college or work, don't force yourself to go through the day if you can't handle it. Run yourself a bath and try to do something that occupies your mind a but such as reading or painting. If you feel like you want to talk to someone but are too scared there are many organisations or people you can talk to anonymously. Just look after yourself as best as you can, but it is completely okay if you can't.

It is okay to be depressed or have any other mental illness just as it is okay to have a broken arm or leg. Our mental health is so so important and making people feel bad about having an illness will not help. Do not let other people tell you to just get over it. Do not let other people make a joke about it or make you feel uncomfortable about it.

Take care of yourself and those around you as you really never know what is happening within someone no matter how happy they might come across. If you are suffering, take it minute by minute, hour by hour and day by day until you feel comfortable enough to get help. If you think someone is showing signs of a mental disorder make it clear you are there to listen and that help is available but don't force them to tell someone how they're feeling if they're not ready.

You can help by donating, talking or simply listening.

depression
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.