Psyche logo

Dealing with Anxiety

My Story

By Alison PalmerPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1

Nothing is worse than having anxiety. Especially when you are someone capable of many things, someone who has the ability to do anything you put your mind to, someone who has the gift to work hard and dream big.

I don’t remember exactly when my anxiety started but the older I get the more I notice how much of a problem it is. I doubt myself a lot. I worry about things I have absolutely no control over. I find it hard to “fit in”/make friends and because of this I make decisions I later on regret. I don’t know what is it but being constantly told

YOU CAN, YOU CAN!

Makes me shy away, it’s hard for me to accept compliments. Hearing the amount faith other people have in me scares me. It makes me feel like I can’t let them down. Even though deep inside I feel that “I CAN DO THIS” where all this doubt comes from I don’t know….

I go through phases where I feel invisible! Like I can become the world’s biggest Lifestyle Blogger touring the world sharing my travel experiences being financially free!!!!. Other days I feel like I’ll be stuck slaving away at a 9-5 job, only working so I can pay bills and eat. It’s not easy going through anxiety, sometimes I feel people think I’m weak.

I have gone through bad relationships because I didn’t have the confidence to stick up for myself. Stayed in toxic situations for too long because I was too forgiving and didn’t know my worth. I pushed people away and as a result of this I spend most of my time alone. Even though I enjoy my own company I would like be able to go out and have brunch with the girls or go on cute little girl’s trips. I mean who wouldn’t? I find it hard to have conversations with people because I don’t want to say the wrong things or come across in a negative way.

I have missed big opportunities and let go of goals I was well into achieving for myself. This is because I over analyse simple situations and get stuck with going through negative thought patterns. Which drive me further away from becoming successful.   

Everyone goes through anxiety at some stage in their life. Since I’ve accepted my anxiety it has been easier. Unfortunately, there are days where it’s hard to control but I am taking steps to avoid it getting so bad.

I wrote this because recently I have been struggling. There is a lot I have planned for myself this year and I want to achieve more. In order for us to become successful we have to work twice as hard and put in the extra work. This has been overwhelming for me and I’m completely out of my comfort zone but I’m proud and somewhat coping Lol.

I know you’re probably thinking I may need to start some sort of therapy or counselling which I have considered.

For now, my blog is therapy. Those of you who are reading this I would love to hear your experiences and how you deal with anxiety. If this has helped you in any way, I wish the best for you in the future.

anxiety
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.