Psyche logo

Coping with Minor Depression

Here's a few things you can do at home before you try medication (Please talk to your doctor first!)

By Danielle McGawPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Coping with Minor Depression
Photo by Anh Nguyen on Unsplash

Disclaimer: I am not a doctor! I have experienced my own depression and I lived with someone that had major depression. Before you make a plan to deal with your depression, please talk to your doctor, no matter how minor you think it is. Let your doctor work out a plan with you.

Have you ever suffered from “the blues”? Maybe when winter comes you just can’t get motivated to leave the house or you have days when you just can’t get yourself out of bed. If you have, you’re not alone. I’ve had periods of depression throughout my life. Some have been worse than others.

I remember when I was in university I went through a really bad winter depression one year. I was going to school, working, and taking care of two young children. In the early fall, I was ok. I got to all my classes and juggled everything with passion. As winter came on and daylight hours grew shorter though, I found that I just couldn’t handle it as well. I started missing classes to stay home and sleep all day long. I couldn’t get off of the couch to make dinner and would order in. I just wanted everyone to leave me alone to sleep because I was so tired.

The depression lasted most of the winter and when the spring came I started feeling better. All of a sudden, my energy started coming back and life went back to the way it had been in the fall. I realized that this was what is commonly called, the “winter blues” or seasonal affective disorder. It may not have been as extreme as other people might have experienced but I knew I didn’t want to go through it next year.

So, I went to the doctor’s office at the university. He quickly (he was in a rush because there were so many students who had yet to see him I guess) said he could prescribe some medication for me. That was not what I was looking for. I didn’t want an easy fix because I knew there were other options. There was no discussion about what my options were, what the side effects of the medication would be, or going to counselling. I went home and researched the heck out of it and looked for another doctor.

When fall came again I had not been able to find a doctor that would have a discussion with me about my depression so this is what I did:

  • I made sure to eat breakfast each and every morning. That breakfast always included protein like a piece of cheese, an egg, or peanut butter.
  • I made sure to be outside for at least half an hour every day. Even in the coldest months I would take the longer route to classes so that I could walk outside in the sun and soak up those ever important Vitamin D elements from the sun.
  • I made an extra effort to keep my house organized. The mess of two kids really got to me for some reason.
  • I started seeing a counsellor. It was preventative.

These four things helped me get through the winter with very few depressed days.

Of course, what worked for one person will not work for everyone. Try these four things out if you are dealing with depression for the first time. They very well might be helpful.

But, if your depression is more serious you are likely to find that these things are not enough. If that is the case PLEASE go and see your family doctor. Tell your doctor exactly what you are feeling. Give them as much background as possible. Let your doctor refer you to a counselor and work with professionals to find a solution.

If you are like me and talk with a doctor that automatically wants to throw some medications down your throat without a discussion, try another one. I promise that not all doctors are like that. My experience was thirty years ago and doctors today are much more willing to talk about your options. Younger doctors especially seem to be more open minded.

Fight for yourself. Find the right doctor to help you deal with your mental health.

Thanks for reading! I'm a full-time writer so every time someone like you reads my articles it helps me. Every time someone like you shares my articles on their social media channels it helps.

If you want to go a little further and show support for what I'm doing, you can click that heart button and even leave a tip!

depression
Like

About the Creator

Danielle McGaw

Freelance writer | More about me here: http://dani.space

Sex | Dating | Relationships | Mental Health | Self | Fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.