Psyche logo

Conquering Depression

how I am overcoming depression by listening to music and reading books

By Allie TaylorPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Conquering Depression
Photo by Simon Noh on Unsplash

They say time heals all wounds and the pain of the loss will fade but that is not entirely true . I have been told that phrase so many times from age 3 to present , that it has gotten old for me. The two things that have helped me throughout all the loses of my life is music and books . This is a how i overcame the the demons that come when you feel like your cursed by death and why i turn to music and books to make me happy and bring inner peace.

I have been too many funerals that I always wonder when the grim reaper will leave me alone . For the most of my life I have been plagued by the way death seems to take the most important people in my life like my mother ,grandmothers ,and grandfather before i even turn 25 years old . These are the losses that got me diagnosed with the demon known as depression ,which i still battle to this day . Depression does not go away , it gets buried until something happens in your life that you feel like you could have prevented it.

Music and reading books are two main things that have help me with my everlasting battle . Music will be the main one due to the fact I could listen and cry for my losses ,while thinking of the good memories that I have in my heart of them . When i want to think about the happy that i had with my love ones that is when i put on like elvis presley or something from that era. When i want something more to classical music . Music has literally been my life saver for one reason and that is to keep the dark thoughts away from my mind .

Have you ever been feeling down about something and you pick up a book that just sends that feeling back where it came from? Books have help move past the trama of the losses that hurt me most. One book series that helped me greatly was Harry Potter due to the fact that I related to the main characters past with death. Books help in way that makes the mind be transport to what is going on in the book . I may have been tease for being a bookworn or nerd but books have help me find my own way to keep depression at bay from time to time .

By 🇸🇮 Janko Ferlič on Unsplash

For some people medication is the way to go to battle depression but for me that did not work. Between books and music I have been able to stand against the demon known as depression . Things that I didn't think of in the beginning ended up saving me as a whole. Now i am not a professional in the art on the mind or emotions but i have been throught so much that i can relate in some cases to people who feel their whole world is gone. People need to know it is okay to not be okay ,when it comes to both the mind and soul / heart.

So as I was writing this I was listening to Elvis Presley ,while thinking about how proud I am of myself for finally writing about my everyday battle with depression and what tools I used . while I am one of the fortunate few that don't succumb to the darker thought like suicide , sadly others do . I hope that this will show people the good that music and book can do for someone like me with depression to help the get through the day with a little bit of happiness .

recovery
1

About the Creator

Allie Taylor

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.