Psyche logo

Concussion Part 4:

The start to recovery: Stress/ anxiety relief

By ToriPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
Looks weird but it’s helpful

The recovery process will require time, patience, resilience and consistency. This, I know, but I still get frustrated, worried and angry. It took time to get into a primary appointment alone and I needed that appointment to get a referral into any specialty practice. I don't know if it's like that in every state, but I guess it is in Colorado.

The recovery process is now going. The light at the end of the dark tunnel is a bit brighter. I have some heaviness off my shoulders and chest. The anxiety is just a little bit less intense. It is finally just a bit more calm even though there is so much to get done.

I can't help but think about how I was doing leading up to my first primary care appointment after the accident. I was very lost (I still somewhat am). I felt stuck. I wasn't getting better from any tactics I was using. I could not work a full shift without something happening with my brain or body. I could not exercise as a precaution of the healing process. I had a very hard time communicating with my parents, friends and coworkers on what was going on. I did not feel like talking to people at times due to the exhaustion of trying to communicate properly. I was emotional for little things that used to not bother me and I could (sometimes still can't) understand why.

There wasn't much I could do. My physical therapist said "You felt like you were in a in-between and it is definitley one of the most frustrating parts after any kind of accident that causes a major life change".

She was right.

So, what are some things that can help relieve some stress, anxiety and worry during that in-between? I cannot say a professional opinion. Everything I have tried have been trial and error. But everyone is different so maybe certain things will work for you that did not work for me.

  • Boxed breathing: This works for me in the heat of the moment where I feel myself getting angry or worried for a little thing or with someone else. You inhale for 4 seconds, hold it for 4 seconds, exhale for 4 seconds, then hold it for 4 seconds. Repeat this process as many times as needed. It usually takes me 3- 10 times depending on the level of irritability and anxiety.
  • Candles, sage or inscents: Basically things that you think smell nice. I used to use all of them when I am creating a calm environment. I think when I use any of them now it automatically puts my brain in a more calm state.
  • Research or read: I cannot get myself to read fiction books every day so I will do research. Whether that is looking for a book in the library about my issues, a random topic I am curious about or asking someone else questions who knows the answer.
  • Have a mini notebook on you (most of the time): This helps me when I cannot process things when someone is talking to me or my brain is foggy and the other person needs me to remember something. It's annoying sometimes to have to carry it, but it helps if I am off.
  • Sticky notes: This is a weird one that has brought down my anxiety and irritability a good amount since I started it. I have 3 different colored sticky notes. Green, orange and yellow. The green is for the date and the biggest tasks or goals I want done that day. Orange is for things that NEED to be done that day (highest priority). Yellow is for tasks I would like to get done, but it is not a big deal if I do not get to them. This has been helping me see what I can handle and for how long. Because some day I will be both physically and mentally energized to get shit done. The days after that, I noticed those energy levels start to go down pretty quickly until the day I crash and cannot do anything. This has helped bring me a sense of relief because I feel like I am not doing enough most days even though I NEED to be resting. Having these sticky notes and checking each thing off I have gotten done and even adding things that I did that was not planned. It gives me a sense of comfort so I am not as hard on myself.
  • Talking to people who have been able to understand what you've been communicating: I used to be pretty open to many about my life and situations. Lately, I have only been open to a select few. Those select few know me well enough, that they can understand exactly what I am saying even if I don't communicate it right. It is a damn blessing. But I will warn there are some days where talking about everything even though I am solving them are just not cutting it. I just feel so stressed, worried, and annoyed that I put my phone away for the rest of the day and do what I need to do or just pamper myself.
  • Pamper yourself: After the car accident and not being able to work, I am definitely tight on money. So treating myself to go to a spa or buy spa type of things is not going to happen. What do I do? Take a damn bath, throw the scented bar of soap in the bath, watch my favorite show during my bath, shave in the bath, get out, put lotion on and massage it in all over so my skin enjoys it. I pluck my eyebrows and shape them how I'd like. I put on a face mask and do my full exfoliator and hydration routine. Then dress up with a full face of make up and do a "at home" model shoot just for the hell of it. Then send some of those to my boyfriend while he is at work for fun.
  • WATER: Stay hydrated folks. I even suck at this, but after the days and weeks of a consistent headache, it helps make those headaches NOT get worse.

Thank you for reading this folks! I hope this helped. Let me know if you or anyone you know has stress/ anxiety relief techniques that have helped you during a brain injury or after any accident for that matter.

recovery
Like

About the Creator

Tori

I am a young energetic maiden who enjoys psychology, learning, food, adventure, Mother Nature, animals, clothes, science and occasionally pranking my loved ones.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.