Psyche logo

Chris Hemsworth: In addition to being Thor, he enjoys entrepreneurship and studying sharks

For Hemsworth, Hollywood was just a place to work

By Yan Guo LuanPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like

Chris Hemsworth is best known for his role as Thor in Marvel, but he's also an environmentalist, producer, and entrepreneur. In a recent show with the National Geographic Channel, he tried to investigate the causes of shark attacks on humans, as the phenomenon becomes more frequent in various parts of the world, including Australia. For Hemsworth, Hollywood was just a place to work. He loved living in his hometown, Byron Bay, Australia, and advising his brothers on getting into the film industry.

picture

Hemsworth has played Thor since 2011 and earns $15 million per film in the franchise, plus a percentage of the profits. He has also worked with Hugo Boss, Giorgio Armani and Tag Huer. In 2019, he launched his first venture through his investment firm Ward Blacket Investments: Centr, an app focused on health and fitness. Centr not only helps users better exercise at home and in the gym through an online professional trainer service, but also provides recommendations for training-related meals. Centr now has more than 100,000 members.

"I've been interested in entrepreneurship since I was a child. Because I'm a big believer that actors, artists, to be successful, you have to own your own business and figure out how much each business costs and comes in. For entrepreneurs, creativity and talent are not enough, but a concrete, realistic and pragmatic spirit is also needed."

Hemsworth lives in Byron Bay with his wife, Elsa Pataky, a Spanish actress, with whom he has three children. While Hemsworth gets a lot of attention for being a superhero, he tries to keep kids out of the spotlight. In 2022, Thor: Love and Thunder will be released, and before that, the sci-fi drama Escape From the Spider-Head, which Hemsworth co-produced, will hit Netflix.

You decided to leave Los Angeles and move to Australia starting in 2015. Why?

Chris Hemsworth: My wife and I believe deeply that Australia makes life more human and normal, and we love Byron Bay. I had a great childhood in Australia and I think that helped me to be confident and successful, so I want the kids to have a similar experience of believing they can do anything. We used to travel in caravans with the kids, have barbecues and camp on the beach. No one here cares who we are. No paparazzi. To them, I am who I really am. From a business point of view, there is a growing community of producers and directors who will shoot directly here.

You've been the face of Tourism Australia since 2016, starring in a Crocodile Dundee-inspired commercial to do so. You also launched Philausophy, a $38 million campaign, in 2019.

Chris Hemsworth: Crocodile Dundee's films are a window for Australia to reach out and bring a lot of tourists here. I'm not brave in real life, but I love Australia. Growing up in Melbourne and the outback in the Northern Territory in an Aboriginal community called the Boorman, some of my best childhood involved cattle, farms, breeders, crocodiles, buffalo. My family moved to Phillip Island when I was a teenager, and the island is famous for the penguins that come ashore every night. Australia is unique in that it has a strong economy, excellent social security system and an efficient education system. Living in Australia brings you into contact with natural environments that are still intact, such as tropical rainforests. The sea in Australia is so blue and the fish are so abundant that it looks like a huge aquarium.

What prompted you to participate in the National Geographic program?

Chris Hemsworth: I really like adventure and surfing, after all I grew up in a land that was inhabited by kangaroos, crocodiles, buffalo, snakes and all kinds of venomous animals. I've always had a very strong connection to the ocean, and that connection has only grown stronger since we've lived here. I am fascinated by sharks, the danger they can pose to humans and the fact that they are often unfairly seen as evil creatures. This program not only taught me to swim with sharks, but also showed me how to use them to avoid conflict with these animals. In addition, I am particularly interested in new technologies that can protect people and nature.

Did the idea for Centr come from your passion for technology?

Chris Hemsworth: I want to create a community of experts who can help maintain physical and mental health and share personalized training experiences within the community so that everyone can adopt them. Mental and physical health has always been important to me. Sports give me incredible energy and help me be more productive at work because I shoot a lot of scenes myself without stunts. In this process, I will try to personally study the best techniques and methods.

You have admitted to being highly competitive, both in your personal life and at work......

Chris Hemsworth: I grew up in a very masculine environment, and there was always sibling rivalry, especially at a young age. I believe that competition, in any profession or undertaking, helps to inspire ambition, but it must not turn into envy, for it can lead to ruin.

What is your greatest satisfaction in your job?

Chris Hemsworth: When I made a lot of money, I would call my father who was struggling financially and say, "Dad, give me your bank account number!" Then I gave him a large sum of money, which was the greatest satisfaction of my life. I miss my wife and kids a lot when I travel because I can't take them with me, but having them around makes me feel safe, and I believe my career success depends on it.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Yan Guo Luan

I like movies, music, science fiction and art. I am a certified graphic designer and create my own art. Things that inspire me include equality, respect and anything weird.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.