Psyche logo

Chapter Zero: Process.Makes perfect.

Diaries of an introverted divergent #postlockdown

By 🇻🇳 Journey with Juju 🇦🇺Published 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo of Juju Nguyen @Journey with Juju

I'm here for my Introverts, Misfits and the Divergents.

Type 5s? Tick, right here.

Any INFJ's reading this? You are welcome too.

But, most importantly --> you are more than a TITLE, more than a TERM and more than a tick-box option.

Introverted Divergent?

I know it sounds L-O-A-D-E-D - loaded with assumptions already. This is the closest language that can describe how I feel, think, be and even live.

G'day and Chao, my name is Julianne. Please call me JUJU. I come from Australia.

I have hope for the next generation of youth, young people and millennials to change the narrative - this can be shared for another time (I know right? We have jobs to do to pay back our college/uni debt!)

There is always an alternative.

There is another way.

Anybody felt inspired to move in life after watching the 'DIVERGENT' film?

.*.*

I realised there's a lot of self-help, advice and reflections here on the world of Vocal Media. And if you did a quick skim of my past posts, they were pretty heavy. I tried to be like the others, like those with polished posts... I heard my conscience tell me that we are all human --

It's a process.

So I challenge myself to be real by sharing with you my journey over the next few months of my creative process.

But where is the truth?

I found the truth because I am trying to live the life of a CREATIVE:

  • The beginning is always the hardest.
  • It takes time to find your groove, your voice and your consistency along with your other life doings - job, family, time to breathe...
  • We all have value, dignity, talent and a level of 'divergence.' It takes time to discover what you can give to humanity.

And here I am back here again with the kindness of Vocal to give me the incentive to focus on writing i.e building my 'self ' - again.

I'm starting over and spreading the real behind-the-scenes, the grind, the challenges and battles of every creator, artist and writer.

As Gary Vee says:

Document, Don't Create.

Chapter Zero:

Aside from being here to put out my thoughts, I began a digital scrapbook and aim to simply dump all of my initial ideas, thoughts, diagrams in the world of Tumblr. If you have played with Tumblr's interface, it focuses more on the user, the expression and content and less on the number of followers.

Sorry Instagram, I think it is safest to keep my perfectionistic critic in check by choosing a platform to share my real value rather than feel the need to compete or compare. This is from my experience in the world of social media.

Screenshot by @Journey with Juju on my new Tumblr page.

Ironically, I am building my Instagram page to share my life journey on navigating my twenties, living at home with migrant parents and life advice on how to make meaning the 'alternative' way #divergentstyle #mentalhealth

What is Juju working on?

Two Short films:

1. Coming of Age - 1990s-2000s life captured on my dad's camcorder, self reflection as a daily practice...

Below is unscripted/drafted and documented notes from my creative head:

My first film GREY (2018) (I will share another time) depicts:

Light

Shadow

Reflection

Ending: Acceptance that I’m ‘grey’/in between TWO CULTURES.

My goal in March 2022 is the sequel to Grey:

JUJU in and out of lockdown:

Themes/Metaphors:

Time

Season

Cycle

Change

Growth

Ending: Own yourself, receive power from my past ancestors, spiritual teachings, parents' ways, traditions...

Some dialogue lines for my short film script:

“I... don’t have to work full time”

“It so happens to be like this... Such is fate.”

“Some people have that… I have this”

“I.”

“We...” (Family emotional enmeshment)

“I like ____ home”

“I need to get out of here... I feel stuck."

Photo by @Journey with Juju

2. My Father's Migrant Journey - Meaning of Water, Migration, Mother Nature and Purpose of Humanity.

If you have read my previous posts, I have shared a bit about my journey growing up Vietnamese in Australia with migrant parents...

As a second-generation millennial, I have arrived in a place where I want to give back - by documenting, archiving and curating a story to portray the hardships, challenges, triumph and hard work our migrant parents had to endure in this 21st century #refugeestory

~

This is Chapter Zero of my battling-my-perfectionism project.

This is Journey with Juju.

This is Juju - on a mission to help Millennials Make Meaning ✌🏽

-

I'll be back for Chapter ONE.

selfcare
Like

About the Creator

🇻🇳 Journey with Juju 🇦🇺

I'm here for those who are looking for something more.

#LESSjunkmoreJUJU

~Currently documenting my post-lockdown life:

Part time Mental Health Worker / Part time Artist.

Let's make meaning together Millennials ✌🏽

[email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.