Psyche logo

Blinking Out

How a Phone Game Treats me Better Than a Planet Does

By L SophystraPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
3
The background of the image is light and dark green The pattern is light green boxes in rows and the rows themselves are dark green. A top the pattern are three lines running vertically and parellel to one another on the very far left of the background. The first line on the left is orange, the thickest one in the middle is pink and the last line on the right is purple. Beside these lines in the foreground is an image of a cellphone. On the cellphone is an image of a field and farm. A wheelbarrow rests beside the farm on the right. Just in front of the farm is a watering can. Just ahead of that same field are two young people using their own watering can to water a small potted plant. Beside the image of the phone on the top right is an Earth shaped like a heart. Drawn in comic-style two brown women are hugging the heart-shaped Earth, their hands also reaching to embrace one another. The two individuals can only be seen from the torso up, one is wearing a checkered purple shirt and the other is wearing a solid purple shirt. On the far right is an image of a woman holding and looking at her cellphone. She is wearing a yellow top with a red jacket, that's open and red pants. Her other hand, the left, is in her pocket. She is only visible from the waist up. Beside the woman on the left, in the middle of the three other images the words, 'When I get sick, I want to be able to push pause for just a moment. I want empathy and not inconvenienced looks from the world around me. Anxiety is inherent in so many people like myself living with disabilities. For now the real world is the world we live in and people with disabilities have had to learn to squeeze themselves into it.

I have a phone game. It’s a run-of-the-mill run a farm type of game. Your character is an elderly person living with regret, they want a chance to return to the simple life. In the game, a magical butterfly-winged fairy appears to turn back the hands of time and allow for you to make changes to the choices you’ve made. She returns you to your grandfather’s land, where you must now cultivate produce, livestock, and more from a derelict farm.

Though I am not really a renewed young woman seeking to reattach her roots, I find the action of helping this video game character cathartic. She wakes up every day at 6am on the dot. A milk fairy leaves her a bottle of milk on her porch every morning. My character, a black woman with a smart brown jacket and a matching cap, goes through the routine of planting and picking crops, then shipping them by truck, ship, and eventually by air travel. As she makes these shipments, more options to better her farm appear. I make my own juice, temper my own metal, create cloth, honey, and tea on-site.

A stitched sketch of a farm. The farm and fields are stitched using light green for the background and solid black for the figures and scenery. The outline surrounding the image is stitched in light blue. A stick figure girl with hat and pitchfork stands in front. On her left is a bale of hay. Behind the hay is a small lake and two cows grazing nearby. On the right side of the farmer is a small farmhouse. On the right of the farmhouse is a field of corn surrounded by a fence. In the air, the sun beats overhead. The words, 'a peaceful life' is stitched into the bottom blue background. A needle and thread rest beside the words.

-------

Outside of the game, I struggle with meeting deadlines and procrastinating. Something happens to me where I begin to fear the ending of a project, it’s irrational but it comes anyway. That paper I was twenty sentences from finishing? Cast to the wayside! That DIY book on brooch-making out the window! The fear is so palpable I don’t even listen to phone messages. A crippling fear of the unknown and what it holds grips me. When the mailbox is full, that’s when I finally feel enough pressure to listen, each clicked message a mini panic attack.

This performance anxiety has gripped me since I was a child. For seven years I was an only child and afterward, the oldest of five children. When I was younger, it was determined that I was gifted. I was expected to perform at a certain level all the time. There was no room for error and anything lower than a B was not acceptable. I’d always been the one to play by the rules. I did what I was told, performed as necessary and did little thinking outside of academic pleasures. I kept my head down, didn’t do parties and read enough books to fill several libraries. It seemed that through my academic years my only real value to others was knowledge. I wasn’t one of the pretty ones, wasn’t particularly brave. Being somewhat athletic, intelligent and behaving in an easy-going(aka passive-aggressive) manner was what I was known for. As an adult, I know this crippled my ability to perform later on. When I failed at being smart in school, when I failed to appear cool in front of friends, when I failed to please my parents I felt something akin to fear, like I would slide into nothingness.

I would isolate. I still do.

-------

In the farm game, time leaps forward ten minutes every minute. One has to choose several manageable goals and go after them. Being decisive leads to profit, happy animals, and glowing neighbors. Some days, I designate to harvesting trees, collecting wood for rebuilding facilities on the property. Other days I designate wholly to mining and refining ore. The fairy’s milk replenishes energy as I use the pickax to make trackable progress through the mine. I even give my character needed self-care days. She goes fishing on Saturdays, then cooks a couple of meals for the week ahead.

Goals in the game are at your pace. You can take as many days as you need to solve a problem. Relationships can be managed over any length of time, no friend is upset that you don’t have the mental capacity to talk with them at the moment. People wait on you in the game, the seasons change but the people are always patient. When major events come up for the town, there’s no pressure to attend and the event is held all day so if you change your mind about going, there’s plenty of time.

Originally a notebook and pen drawing of a woman in a kimono. It has now had digital effects added. There is a background, beneath the image, a field of orange flowers. The drawing has been placed over top, with the notebook yellow still present and matching the orange of the flowers underneath. The woman's hair is braided in two braids, ending with two green bows. Her kimono has the same green pattern on the sleeves. Yellow flowers grow around her. Beside her face the words ‘Self-Love is Self Reflection’ are written in pink, pink glitter underlining it. (click here for original artwork)

Being disabled I think about what it would be like if the world actually waited up for me, if I could actually move at my own pace. My disease reacts to levels of stress, the more harried my environment, the more my condition physically manifests. Weight loss, insomnia, body pain, headaches, chills and fevers they’ve all happened when stressed out over work or school. I would do well at first but the more pressure to complete my deadlines or stay later hours at work, the harder it became to show up for tasks. I’ve dropped out of three colleges this way, lost scholarships because I was physically incapable of keeping up.

Losing these opportunities crushed me, made me feel inferior. I knew with my intelligence level what I was being asked to do was doable. I knew given enough time, I could perform at the level everyone was asking. On top of everything else, I’m a perfectionist. In the farm game, my need to have everything in its proper place is not a hindrance. In the real world, there is no perfect, everything is messy. Teachers forget I’m disabled or pretend they don’t understand my capabilities. People at work think I can “manage well enough" as is or they simply don't have the means to accommodate me. Though the work I’ve completed thus far is exceptional, it is nowhere near complete, so a failure they tell me and no amount of doctor notes can add more time to a semester.

My phone game accepts my pacing, accepts my anxieties, and appreciates my attention to detail. My phone farm lets me and my character rest as needed. I can save my progress at any time. If I don’t like what I’ve done, I can end the program and pick up from a time where everything made sense. My farm lets me express myself without getting hurt. It lets me give freely. When I make these comparisons between the compassion shown me virtually and the lack of empathy in the real world, it hurts. It shows me that there are people out there who want this kind of love from the real world. There are people out there who would manufacture a safe world for people like myself, they just aren’t able.

A digital and pen-sketched image of an android woman. Her body is still humanoid but segmented into different plates that make up her shape. The color of her body is different shades of blue. She is standing in such a way that we only get her side view. A yellow orb of light glows through the slitted plates of her chest, which an open space, not covered by a plate. She is standing in a field of flowers, some purple, others a variant of color, purple, light blue, orange, green and yellow. A butterfly rests in her outstretched hand. A tree grows in the foreground. Beneath her outstretched hand are the words ‘Nature is my Safe Space’. The background of the image is a rainbowed sky, the top of the image starting off a vibrant red and slowly transforming to the other colors of the rainbow before finally becoming purple.

-------

When I get sick, I want to be able to push pause for just a moment. I want empathy and not inconvenienced looks from the world around me. Anxiety is inherent in so many people like myself living with disabilities. For now the real world is the world we live in and people with disabilities have had to learn to squeeze themselves into it. Having to force myself both mentally and physically into a one-size-fits-all box, makes me want to blink out. I hoard whatever cash I have, buy only sensible food, clean everything around me and hunker down away from the world. Anything I can’t control I push to the wayside. It’s my version of a real-life pause button. Right now, with the coronavirus present, the world is pressing pause. We see nature recover, artists having time to work, even musicians putting out free music. It shouldn’t take a pandemic for us to understand how necessary it is for us to give people time. Our society needs to learn to treat people with empathy, to understand that we created clocks to make time, not steal it. What this life-altering event has shown me is that we can afford to press pause, that by moving at our own pace we are more comfortable and produce better work.

(Musicians Yoko Kanno and the Seatbelts during quarantine, click just above to play video.)(Kanno & The Seatbelts, 2020)

Even with social distancing, people are finding new ways to care about others. Suddenly we make time for elderly shopping, suddenly immunocompromised people come first, suddenly life-saving services are offered at cost or free. In my phone game, my character is surrounded by a caring community. Some NPCs (non-playable characters) like my character more than others but we all take care of one another. The NPCs check on my character, offering words of encouragement or tools to make the farm-work easier. They say ‘ I hope this helps' and ‘I had a little extra and thought you might like this’, and so I find myself giving gifts in return.

This should be how humanity really treats each other. Artificial intelligence is capable of community thinking, so are the designers of the game. This game isn’t the only tool that shows compassion and sharing, it’s hammered into us as children. At what point is it no longer cool to be kind? At what point does sharing and taking time away become negligent behavior? We need to get back to that place. We need to return to kindness. Humanity needs to be more than just a game on a phone. Humanity needs the chance to be more humane.

Reference

Kanno, Y. (Director). (2020, April 24). TANK! Virtual Session 2020 [Video file]. Retrieved November 22, 2020, from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2VsgkIE-RHg&feature=youtu.be

anxiety
3

About the Creator

L Sophystra

Writer, singer, painter, dancer and spoken word artist. Come into the world of the Lady. Diversify what you know, living with lupus since age 12, this unique artist offers perspective that will change your heart and mind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.