Psyche logo

Being alone is a good thing. Here's why.

Mental Health Perspectives

By Ami MerchantPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Being alone is a good thing. Here's why.
Photo by Manuel Meurisse on Unsplash

Why am I with someone and still feel all by myself? This a question you've probably asked yourself, just like me. I wonder all the time if I really like this person why do I find myself overthinking and wishing it ended up differently. I wish this person knew how they made me feel. Why won't they open up to me? I feel so terribly alone. Whining.... I channel my higher self when this happens. I think about this situation in the grand scheme of my life and realise this is a cycle. I notice the cycle of karma through relationships manifesting before my eyes. You know how they say the universe will send you the same lesson over and over until you learn and never look back? Well yeah this was happening. Let's begin the story. I met a young girl in my college dorm. I was immediately attracted to her energy when she walked into the room. Her eyes lit up and her smile as powerful as the sun. I wanted to connect with her as soon as possible. She came to my dorm with m roommates friends. She brought friends with her so I knew she wouldn't be alone, but I like to get to know people when they're alone because the real them comes out. We all went back to her dorm room and talked for a little it got quiet and there was no flow. I decided to transition the conversation into her room and talk a little more about each other. We talked and connected a little. She seemed really happy around me and we ended up talking all night. We cuddled in her bed and I spent the night, Maybe I moved a little too fast, but I felt as if the vibes were right. She clearly felt the same. We talked about it the next day and decided what happened was a little odd and we continued to hangout after that and became really close. I later find out she has a boyfriend in her hometown that she never broke off. He really loves her and I honestly did not respect that. I felt like my feelings were more important than logic in this situation. We kept hanging out. The sleepovers continued and we both began to get attached. I could tell this was moving fast and I began to give her space but the damage has already been done and we are always around each other. If she is not at work or if I'm not at school or working on my art we're around each other. She's either at my dorm or I'm at her's. I tried to open up to her and get a little deeper into her mind, but she would immediately change the subject or avoid opening up to me. I figured time would heal all wounds and she would open up due time. I was wrong. She became a partier and decided to go to clubs, get drunk every night and disconnect from her responsibilities. I was distraught. The girl I created in my head was far from the girl I knew. I knew I made a mistake and this girl has manifested into my reality to teach me a lesson about protecting my energy and focusing on what I came to this school to do. I understand the potential damage one can have on my life if I'm not careful.

Here's the takeaway. Being alone and missing out on an experience is worth it to make space for the good that is coming. Keep your head down and focus on YOU. No one will tell you this. It is up to you. It is not selfish to protect your energy and be skeptical of the humans you allow into your energetic field. The universe/god is constantly testing you. Your mind, attention, and intention creates your reality. Give your mind, attention, and intention to the betterment of YOU. Learn to love yourself and love being alone because after all, you only have yourself in the end. I cut her off. I believe universe/god has prepared a more beautiful vision for me and the only way I may receive is if I let go. I am aware of my karmic debt. I believe it is paid. For now.

Being alone has taught me that I am powerful. Where my attention goes my energy flows. My energy flowing towards something will manifest more of it. Does not matter what it is, it will manifest. The universe responds to my attention. I am graded among my attention and what I place it on. When I am alone and place my full attentiveness on myself I am happiest and most at peace. Previously, it was uncomfortable so I sought validation in another being. I wanted comfort. Please don't make this mistake. Be yourself and enjoy being alone. Remember you are deserving on the love you continue to give away. Be comfortable with being alone. God is watching.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Ami Merchant

Free mind

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.