Psyche logo

Becoming Aware of Mental Health

Nutrition, Boundary-setting, and Intentional Thinking all matter.

By Susie PinonPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1
Photo by Marcel Strauß on Unsplash

When I first became aware of what I was feeding my physical body, I started becoming more mindful of the consequences behind what I consumed.

Initially, I sought to abstain from animal products for the sake of ethics, but through years of education, I evolved into a plant-centric whole foods foodie to maintain my highest health.

And in time, I realized that although I tried my best to eat clean, with occasional junk food and treats, that I wasn’t paying attention to what my mind was consuming.

Sure, I tried to be positive, but I lacked patience and was impulsive (and still am, but working on it).

Also, I allowed external events and people in my surroundings to trigger me, send me into fits of anger, and I got to the point where I often experienced involuntary palpitations.

The Health of the Mind

I had a reality check. If I wanted to thrive at the epitome of health for myself, I needed to more closely monitor my mental patterns. Not only that, but I needed to become more aware of my behavioral impulses, reactionary thoughts, and internal drive for unobtainable perfectionism in every task I completed.

In retrospect, I really started becoming aware of my mental health and how to regulate my emotions in my third year of college.

I transferred to Rutgers University after attending community college for two years, and it was the first time I was on my own. (I only lived 30 minutes away but this was still significant for me.)

I joined the Yoga and Reiki Club, along with Veg Society, and met fellow like-minded individuals and spiritually enlightened peers of which many turned close friends, even post-grad. After developing my lifestyle as a vegan over the past couple of years at this point, I felt that I was ready to tackle another leg of self-improvement — my mind.

Rutgers University Yoga and Reiki Club

Physical Movement

I started working out more, for the sake of clarity of mind. It was nice since my caboose was looking pretty good, too. I meditated regularly on Tuesday evenings with my yogis and started becoming serious about chilling the f out since I had a tendency to get hysterical over small mishaps.

I was always on edge, juggling the realities of adulthood I hadn’t yet been accustomed to. It was easy to set me off, and life became less enjoyable. I was like a ticking time bomb, ready to implode at the drop of a hat. I definitely came across as a bitch to many, and I recall various arguments with strangers at university over trivial things. Hey, no one’s perfect, right?

Sanity Practice

Over time, I simmered down with the help of friends and loved ones who guided me towards a more peaceful state of being. I journaled often, ate well, moved my being, and enjoyed university to the highest degree possible. (Just kidding, I stopped after my Bachelor’s.)

Today, roughly two years post-grad, I was re-reading old journal entries out of my beloved orange journal, always dated and organized to a tee, which follows suit with who I am. I came across powerful messages from March of 2019 that felt invigorating.

Looking back, I know that these words helped shape the person I am today, which is a person I am truly proud to be, though always evolving and shaping up (physically and mentally).

I wanted to share them with you, in hopes that they will serve as a small reminder to keep moving towards the best version of yourself. And to just remember that the only thing we need to do is to keep making baby steps. That’s it. That’s enough. I promise it will get you far without burning you out. You are enough.

I felt that I was ready to tackle another leg of self-improvement — my mind.

My orange journal 🍊

Miscellaneous Inspiration for You

Shame + fear=excruciating vulnerability. You must have a sense of worthiness — a sense of love and belonging. These people believe they’re worthy.

The fear that we are not worthy of connection makes us disconnected. You must have the courage to tell the story of who you are at heart.

...

A connection can be had as a result of authenticity when vulnerability is fully embraced. Be willing to do something where there are no guarantees. Be willing to invest in relationships that may or may not work out.

...

I follow my heart. I am me. I am intense. I am unique. I am everything I need to be right now at this very moment. I am growing so rapidly. I am gravity. My energy radiates through the force field of life.

...

I can achieve all things with love. I will never stop believing in myself and striving for the Universal gift of eternal happiness.

...

I focus my attention on the love that is around me, and I expect miracles.

...

Focus and work on your own vibe rather than focusing on others' vibe. Be in the present moment rather than worrying about the past and future. A positive atmosphere can help you vibrate higher. Stay happy, my friend. You deserve all the good that this beautiful life has to offer.

...

I'm only going to say what I want to put into the Universe.

...

Happiness is my birthright. I embrace happiness as my set point of being-as my equilibrium. I feel joy and contentment right now. I awaken in the morning feeling happy and enthusiastic about life. I feel like I can do anything. I can tap into a wellspring of inner happiness any time that I wish.

~End Notes

...

With a journal filled with so many nuggets of compassionate wisdom, I hope to make a difference in the lives of others.

If mental health is not a priority to you because you’re tied up with work, or something else, let this be your reality check that your mental health is always the priority. Make time for yourself.

Xo, Susie

〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰〰

If you enjoyed this piece, please consider leaving a tip. Thanks!✌️😊

selfcare
1

About the Creator

Susie Pinon

Italian chick with a New Yorker attitude. Free-spirited, eclectic by nature, vegan. I'm fueled by my passion for the art of words. I'm addicted to chocolate + love to heal through the sun's rays. Let's talk words

https://linktr.ee/xosusiep

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.