Psyche logo

Be Ready To Go Through Shit

If you want to be successful this is the one thing you need to know

By Carlos VelascoPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo by Bahaa A. Shawqi from Pexels

You are sitting in front of your desk, typing a new article. You are very excited since you are writing about something you are very passionate about.

You finished typing, you check the title and the script; all seems fine. You call it a day and you publish it with the perfect cover and the correct tags.

You hit the publish button and your body immediately fills with excitement. “I can’t wait to see how many reads and views this will have” — You say to yourself — “This is definitely my best article to date!”

You let 2 hours pass and then you finally decide to check how your story is going. You open Vocal and you get that disgusting taste in your mouth as soon as you see that you have no notifications popping up.

“What? This has been my best writing ever. I can’t believe I’ve wasted an entire month and I haven’t earned a single penny writing articles! This is outrageous! It’s unfair!”

And I want to tell you that life is like that.

It has happened to me lots of times that I’ve put an article thinking is the shit, and got results that were shit.

But the thing that calms me down and keeps my feet on the ground is the following saying:

Everything worth reaching is behind hard times. It’s going to take time.

I actually talked about this in one of my articles “This Is Why You Won’t Achieve your New Year’s Resolutions”:

You should check that out.

After I’ve put that mindset on I came to understand things that stood out to me and still have.

Success doesn’t come in a golden platter

If you are stressing about why you aren’t getting the results that you want, trust me, I know how that can demotivate you from your goals.

After you had spent countless hours trying to get the thing that you want, staying positive, motivated, and had been constant, and even with all of that you don’t see the results, it’s frustrating. I know.

But one of the things that I’ve come to realize is that if something is worth pursuing is going to take a lot of time.

For example, if you haven’t met the person that is going to connect 100% with you and make you feel at peace and like yourself, maybe it’s because you haven’t matched with anyone energetically, and I assure you that when that person comes it will all have been worth it.

If you aren’t seeing the results that you want in the gym and you are working very hard, maybe it’s because your body is different from others and takes slower to get in shape, and I assure you when you get the body type that you want it will all have been worth it.

Now I get what that verse from “Matter of Time” by TRIBE meant:

You say it’s taking too long, I’m taking that as a sign.

Fail. Then go again

Only the people who are very clear-minded and passionate about what they are pursuing are the ones that will actually achieve greatness in life.

Every success story has more failures than successes.

So don’t get demotivated when you try something new and it doesn’t work out. You should be proud that you even try to get out of your comfort zone in the first place.

The fact that you got the balls or the vagina to take a different approach to succeed is admirable. Most people would just have given up saying something along the lines of “Well it’s really not for me then”.

How the hell are you going to know if it’s not for you if you only tried once?

You have to demonstrate to yourself that you are who you say you are.

And I emphasize on “yourself” because that’s the only person you need to please, you. If you are doing something to make someone else happy, and not yourself, then you aren’t in full control over your life, are you?

Wrapping up…

To get where you want to be you have to be willing to eat a lot of crap. You have to be willing to go through hard times and still persevere.

In the process of that, you will build a strong mind, and the best part of it is that with every failure, it will become easier and easier by adopting this mindset.

Remember, if you want to be part of the 5% you have to be willing to do what the 95% doesn’t do.

selfcare
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.