Psyche logo

Battling The Imposter Syndrome

Silencing the voice in your head that tries to convince you that you are undeserving of your accomplishments

By Timi RobinsonPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1
Image by Andrik Langfield from Unsplash

imposter syndrome -

(noun.) the persistent inability to believe that one’s success is deserved or has been legitimately achieved as a result of one’s own efforts or skills.

The imposter syndrome will come for us all at one point. In almost everything we do, there is a persistent thought that will often sow seeds of doubt whenever you have accomplished anything of substance.

You may find yourself believing that luck and chance are the only reasons why you are where you are. That there is someone who is much more deserving of your accolades. In any of our achievements, big or small, there will always be that voice in our head that tries to diminish any feelings of pride and self-worth.

As a result, it can become difficult to enjoy our successes. How are we supposed to take joy in our triumphs when we believe we are undeserving of them?

Even when people try to offer praise, their encouraging words can often go in one ear and out the other. Almost as if it is impossible to accept it without feeling fraudulent.

Image by Matthew Henry from Unsplash

Whether it’s in our academic achievements or our workplaces, there seems to be something in many people that convinces them they aren’t good enough to be there.

I feel it now, sitting here in my room writing this post. Often, I believe I am in no position to offer advice regarding topics I struggle with daily. How can I tell people how to be better when I’m desperately struggling to do the same? Why should people listen to me of all people? There are times I feel like a fraud, portraying an image that is not indicative of my true nature.

I assume I wouldn’t be alone in this sentiment. Many of us feel like frauds, believing we have tricked people into believing we are good enough at what we do. The feeling can be very prominent whenever we branch out and try our hand at new things. The weight of low self-esteem and insecurity loiter around keeping us from experiencing contentment in ourselves and our achievements.

Image by Malachi from Unsplash

So what do we do? A lot of us don’t want to be exposed so we hide away. You might not want to draw too much attention to yourself, or maybe you avoid expressing confidence for fear that it will come across as obnoxious.

You can’t be exposed if you stay far away from the spotlight.

For me, these feelings of inadequacy would surface if I hadn’t met the high expectations I had set for myself. In my mind, I felt I had drastically underperformed and therefore was unworthy of any reward.

If I didn’t fail others, I felt as if I had failed myself. One thing I am beginning to understand is that I may be setting unrealistic standards for myself and you may be too.

The vast majority of us tend to create a plan of action, detailing exactly how and when we will reach our desired outcome. When the journey turns out to be shorter or easier than anticipated, it can be hard to justify the result, no matter how much effort you have put into it.

Image by Sam Moqadam from Unsplash

I think a good way to move forward is to slowly begin to ease the weight off of our shoulders. A great deal of the pressure we feel is generated internally. Once we begin to understand that we are capable and competent in our field, it can become easier to rebuild that inner confidence that has been damaged by the effects of the Imposter Syndrome.

For the future, I want to start writing down some of my successes, past and present, and I think you should give it a go too. It can be difficult to reassure yourself at times but having something that you can refer back to that displays your ability and talent could go a long way.

Most importantly, you are not alone in this. You could throw a rock 10 feet and hit someone who experiences the same feelings of inadequacy as you do. There are people out there who can relate to you in more ways than one.

Don’t be afraid to express how you may be feeling, whether to a friend or a work colleague. While it can be uncomfortable, there is a chance you may come across someone willing to accompany you on this journey.

“We are often troubled, but not crushed; sometimes in doubt, but never in despair; there are many enemies, but we are never without a friend; and though badly hurt at times, we are not destroyed.”

-2 Corinthians 4:8–10

advice
1

About the Creator

Timi Robinson

Just a university student going through the motions and trying to help others going through it as well.

Check out more of my work on Medium! https://medium.com/@timirobinson34

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.