Psyche logo

'back to the future' letter #notetoselfafterlockdown

time capsule foretelling 2020 - for our youth and the next generation

By 🇻🇳 Journey with Juju 🇦🇺Published 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Selfie taken of Juju in her car during the lockdown restriction of one person allowed shopping.

Backstory...

Below is an entry I wrote as a mini time capsule diary a few weeks after the news of the pandemic in 2020. One year and a bit later, I am cleaning up my Google Drive and opened this document.

I'll let you in 'behind the scenes' of my life a few weeks before spilling out my feelings in the entry...

"So, you've heard - be careful. Don't go out too much. This is serious J."

Parents were being a little too over-dramatic don't you think?

Sure, I was aware. There was a few cases interstate but I was safe here in the land down below.

"Hmm, yeah I guess so mate. We're safe here."

I met up with my friend who needed some help running a youth program at her university. That's what she said above. She's usually right. I had faith in her gut feeling.

I remember I was drafting up my invoice.

What I didn't know that this would be my last invoice from that place.

And what you didn't know was that during this time my mind was a mad mess. I was madly accepting every small gig and Air-tasker type job to save up to move interstate to live that 'millennial' dream of living independently from my family of six plus my dog.

And I would need to let you know that as a second generation millennial kid with immigrant parents, I was feeling the pain of my moral Vietnamese responsibilities as the eldest daughter and sister.

It was fine, I thought. My head told me that life was aligning with my desires. Not long after, my inner critic hit in.

I heard the news on the advertisements on my Spotify that there were only five reasons to leave home.

  • My goal to work and live interstate was thrown out the window.
  • The bulk of my freelance gig work was cancelled (I was finishing up with a Casual community project #thankgoodnessforZoom)
  • I finally decided to give DisneyPlus and UberEats a try.

At the end of the piece, I will enlighten you on the beautiful sides that I have taken away after a year or so ... most importantly, here is the time capsule I wrote to myself:

Dear 2005 Juju,

It is 2020 and I do not have good news.

Our prime minister has kept us in lockdown.

It is currently 2pm. I am at home and half in my PJ’s.

I just got off a Zoom meeting with my work peers.

Don’t worry, Zoom will be the norm for you soon.

#covid19 #selfiso

--

I know, you feel scared about technology.

But listen to me - technology is keeping us sane here.

Tell your teachers to move towards digital learning tools.

Build your skills in coding or content writing - be aware.

The world is changing rapidly here.

Prepare for virtual connection.

#wifi #generationconnect

Zoom screenshot of Juju's community group meeting in 2020 (Watercolour filter).

--

Two weeks ago, I got rejected.

My short term contract work was cancelled.

Workplace got closed.

I got a call yesterday about the job I applied for online.

“Due to this uncertain period, we will let you know what will happen next.”

Good bye.

#gigeconomy #shortlistedfortheonemillionthtime

Yes, again this is 2020 Juju here.

I reapplied for government payments for the second time.

It says my claim is ‘being processed.’

Waiting for their call.

Does a two hour meeting for this week count as work?

#unemployed #casualworklife

--

I just woke up from a job alert notification.

Tick. Fourth job I applied for this week.

How will we do interviews when we can’t go outside?

I am safe at home though.

Thank goodness for living with parents #lifesavers

#socialdistancing #checkingthefridgeforthe10thtime

--

Dear Juju of 2025,

I hope in five years that you will not need government support payments anymore.

I hope you will have backup work when something like this happens.

I hope you work but also have time to spend time with family and friends.

#geny #millennialworkers

My old parent's living space. This is where Juju spent her mornings at dawn before sunrise to contemplate - spiritually (will save story for another post).

From Juju in 2021,

#prayforhumanity #thenextgen #findingmynextgig

P.S - ugh, masks is still mandatory and still on Centrelink. But, hey - Ubereats is doing well for us. #4thlockdowninAustralia

~

So, I was quite grumpy in the time I wrote this but I knew there was more to this despite the news, the racial attacks and all that.

The 2021 Juju is more at peace. I have decided to study another course after my four year gap year (another story for another time).

I feel grounded at home and my heart beams with thankfulness for my parents and siblings.

I use to think I can change and save the world but now, I think that I can only do with what I can.

I have decided to dust up, dispose most of my past and decide on my life with a bit more intentionality.

How about you?

We are one out of 7.8 billion people and counting -

What will be your drum beat to this story in this reality now?

coping
1

About the Creator

🇻🇳 Journey with Juju 🇦🇺

I'm here for those who are looking for something more.

#LESSjunkmoreJUJU

~Currently documenting my post-lockdown life:

Part time Mental Health Worker / Part time Artist.

Let's make meaning together Millennials ✌🏽

[email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.