Psyche logo

Art for a Healthy Mind

How to utilize art as therapy, even if you've never tried it before.

By Dulcy WarfieldPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
My 1st attempt at sculpting made it on to a TV series (2020). © Dulcy Warfield 2017-'21

Why Is Art Important?

About five years ago, I was going through a nasty depression (again). I am self-aware enough to recognize it and attempt to pull myself out. I picked up a pencil and tried drawing for the first time as an adult. I quickly learned that I wasn't very talented. There was a lot of trial and error. I went through a lot of erasers and paper. But I didn't give up. I drew every day. I slowly improved. More importantly, my self-confidence improved greatly as well as my self-esteem. Eventually, I started drawing on canvas. Then from there, I started painting with acrylic paint. I became so confident in my improvement that I started sharing my art with other people and actually sold a few pieces.

In 2018, I hand painted all my own Krampusnacht ornaments (I don't celebrate Christmas and that's OK. and I'm happy for you if you do!) and I must say, I was very proud of myself! You can achieve anything you want. Your strength truly does come from within. The sooner you believe this, the sooner you will find happiness. A feeling of accomplishment will boost your self-esteem and that may all you need to get ahead. I ended up selling about 30 ornaments that year, to people all over the United States.

Andy Warhol is one of my favorite Artists. He was believed to have Autism, OCD and a Hoarding Disorder... which inspired his artwork.

Andy Warhol © Dulcy Warfield 2017-2021

Embrace Your Differences. Let Them Inspire Your Art.

Art is such an amazing tool for coping with your emotions and feelings in a very healthy and productive way. It is especially helpful if you have trouble expressing yourself verbally.

It keeps your mind busy- It's difficult to let a bunch of self-hate and paranoia come into your mind if it’s already full of ideas that you'd like to create. Keep your mind busy with positive things like painting or sculpting, knitting, etc. to keep the negative thoughts at bay.

It helps with self-esteem & self-acceptance- It can help those of us who have a "need" for acceptance. Keep in mind that art is based on your feelings, emotions and thoughts. You don't need anyone else's approval. Your feelings are valid. This can help you to see that you truly do not have to attempt to please everyone.

Art is subjective- This means others don't have to understand or like it. All that matters is that you do. It will evoke emotion from some people and not others, and that is OK!

Get the negative out of your head- There are many people in this world who do not like to communicate verbally... especially when it comes to private things like self-hate or depression. This is a very good alternative for you. Write a journal or a poem, draw it, paint it, sculpt it. Any way to express what is going on in your head is a good way to keep it from building up and keeping you up all night.

Don't get discouraged- Anyone, I mean anyone, can learn if they don't know how. There are plenty of free tutorials online. There are books at your local library. Take a class if you are able. If you have a disability that prevents you from working with your hands, there are still options for you so don't give up (spoken word, poetry and singing come to mind!). There is always someone who can teach you, whatever your skill level or limitations are.

Self-Validation- In time, you will learn to be proud of your accomplishments. You will teach yourself how to be happy with your art, without the approval of someone else. And if someone else does validate your creation, it's just a bonus. All that matters is that YOU are happy.

One of my favorite free options for inspiration is Art Prompts.

Find Your Medium. Be Patient. It Takes Some Time.

So, I thought I got pretty good at drawing freehand. Then I started painting and I thought I was better at drawing. So, I went back to drawing and realized I was better with paint! My point is, I hadn't even tried sculpting...

It takes a while to find what you are really good at. If you're lucky, or extremely insightful and talented, you may already know what your gift is. For me, I'm still learning. I love to write as well as paint and draw but, I haven't attempted to write a book yet. Five years from now, I may discover a whole new medium that I'm a complete natural at. Who know?!

The fun part is discovering it. I just learned, in my 40s, that I'm good at things I had never tried before. It is building my self-confidence, and everyone loves feeling good about themselves. There is nothing better than taking control of your own emotions and feelings and making them into what YOU want. They don't have to control you any longer. You can choose, at any time in your life, to redirect that negativity into something and make it a thing of beauty.

Share Your Gift.

Try to look at your illness or emotions, in a positive light. Sure, it makes us feel like crap a lot of the time but, it also gives us the ability to see things from a different perspective. Use that in your art! It is well-known information, that a good number of the most talented artists in history, have suffered from Mental Illness as well. So, don't let anxiety or depression stop you from living... use it to lift yourself up!

© Dulcy Warfield 2017-2021

My sculptures got much better, and actually pretty popular. I actually sold the first one to a network television show and it made a small appearance in one of the episodes. My point being that just try it. You never know what doors will open for you. My sculptures now live in Alaska, Arizona, Oregon, California, New York and Washington. I'm pretty proud. All you have to do is try. Not trying is the only way you can fail.

Original character. © Dulcy Warfield 2017-'21

If you enjoyed this article, please feel free to share and tip me! Funding from my articles helps support my education in Psychology and Sociology!

art
1

About the Creator

Dulcy Warfield

Northwest Arizona. Mental Health. Social Issues.

Domestic Violence Survivor.

Future Sociologist & Sex Educator.

https://www.instagram.com/itsa_me_dulcy/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.