Psyche logo

Are Morphine Angles Real?

The Walk-In Clinic that Changed My Life Forever..

By Kevin CatesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
After Third surgery, on Morphine.. only pain medication that worked! (only picture we took)

We lived four miles from the Mississippi River, in a three-room apartment on the third floor, up three flights of skinny stares. we had a kitchen a bathroom and a bedroom/living room. Plus of course Elmo my Dog. we had moved from Kansas not more than three months earlier. One morning I walked into a walk-in clinic to see if there was a way to ease the stomach problems I was having. I had no clue the journey I was about to embark on, I sat in the Waiting room with others sitting Quietly like waiting on unsure news.

I sat there for what seemed like a few hours, I had no appointment. After time had passed my name was called and I followed the nurse back to a little room, the nurse asked me: What Can We Help you With Today? I began to explain the trouble I had been having for a couple of years. ( I explained ) for a couple of years, I have had trouble with stomach pain, I was a truck driver for 25 years. Bad food, bad sleep, long Hours is How I tried to explain it away!

I was a Company man, I loved my Career .. ( for another time ) I explained it was nerves, truckers are always on a time schedule, always! when gone from home, it's a 24hour job with low pay!

The doctor asked about my Family history, Mother died at 49 from colon cancer, her mother died of throat cancer. The doctor asked when did I stop driving, I said one year ago, he said: that's not it and you need a Colonoscopy!

I month later I was at an undisclosed Hospital 45 miles away from where I lived, scared to death. I was 47 years old 280 pounds and never had more than pneumonia, a few months before + I had been poisoned by a Company I worked for in Pittsburg Kansas, Painting Hazmat Paint ( without Proper Protection )

I was taken into the room for the procedure, Got the IV, watched the Drug go into my arm, then nothing, then nothing? I was wide awake. I laid there and talked and watched the doctor while he removed polyps, five of them and one was so big he had to cut it in thirds. I was talking and Joking the whole time.. ( felt them drop out my bum )

after he was done, wheeled me back into the recovery room, everybody else was asleep.. the nurses were freaked that I was awake wanting to go Home...

The doctor came in said: All five of the Polyps were soft and that's a good sign, but they still need to be biopsied. I was told to go home and if anything else was wrong Just Call!

I thought Yes it's over I caught it early and I'm Good...

Five days later the phone rang! I picked up the phone, put it to my ear, and said: Hello!

There was a Nurse on the phone she said: hold on the Doctor wants to speak to you...

Mr.Reed, I'm sorry to report, the Polyps that were tested were Five, three tested as Cancer. Are you Ok with me explaining a Game plan? I Said Yes.

the doctor asked if I had ever heard of a Bowel Rection, I told him Yes, My Wife had had one, and it worked great. it was a bit of relief knowing it was done in the same area. the doctor continued, Remove 21" of my colon? ( yes ) with my family's history. YES!

Pt-1

coping
Like

About the Creator

Kevin Cates

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.