Psyche logo

Are a narcissist person?

This based on a true story, so this is my story, and if you have someone in your life who is going through this please help them out in anyway possible. I wish someone helped me in a time of need. That's why I'm writing this book.

By Ms. ThomasPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1
Alice M.

Narcists? What does this word really mean? Let's see here; it means that a person who has an excessive interest in or admiration of themselves. But here the true meaning of this word and the actual meaning of the word; Narcissism, in its most basic terms, is self-absorption to the point of being unable to empathize with others. It is a generalized personality trait that can be thought of as selfishness and self-centeredness which is taken to the extreme. Well we got that out of the way. I lived a normal life since the age of 10 years old, since I can remember. I don't remember much around that age but as I started to grow up little by little I started to notice how my own mother started to treat me? She never once called me her daughter she always called me by my name Alice. I always tried to be the miss perfect daughter towards her and did what I was spouse to just so she can be proud of me as a child that she can call me her own daughter, she didn't even budge.... I always tried getting good grades in school, I always made sure I did my homework once I got home, and I made sure the house was clean! But it was never enough for her to even once call me "daughter". That made me sad but I didn't think to much of it till I got into my teen years that is when I really got into depression, and anxiety hit. I once even tried killing myself but something told me to call for help and I ended up calling the police and told them exactly what I was doing and I needed help and if I didn't I wouldn't be here today. My mother didn't know what was going on 'cause she would always tell her friends every little fucking details about her kids. It was fucking so damn stupid, she would tell them exactly what I told her a couple of hours earlier. I stopped telling her shit, and I was happy that I did. So I ended up in a Mental Hospital for two whole months, which was a good thing it was during summer, 'cause I didn't want to miss school. So two months past and I am back at home with my parents, my mother Lora took days off of work to watch over me and make sure I didn't do anything. It seems sweet and all in the beginning, wait till I get into my high school years and after high school. So time went on and I started getting older by time and etc. There have been times when my mother wouldn't be home and I had to ask my father where she went? Around this time I was probably close to being 18 years old. She never tells me shit especially where was going when you think your parents will be home but turns out they are gonna be home super late. So my dad told me that my uncles was hurt!? Honestly I forgot on what he got hurt for... Me and my friend Annie, we had always been friends since late middle school years and we been super close in high school. Next thing was when my mother would always forced me to study for my drivers license none stop. Especially when I was 16 years old and she never stopped doing that! This might not be a narcissist family in your eyes but there is always a whole different part in other peoples life who have it a different ways! Here's couple of things to look out for while I tell a few little areas I have been. Here we go;

In society there are two different ways of abuse of a narcissist, some of that is actually okay in a way, and there are some that aren't never okay. You'll hear is; your boyfriend is being abusive, your friend can be a narcissist. You also will hear well just drop them, it's not as easy as you think of doing just that... Your family is the most toxic and narcissist people in your life, it doesn't matter if you had an okay childhood but they always have a way of turning shit against you and question your worth? I have been there a lot of times and I always wondered why I was never enough for my damn mother. Here are 3 things that is very common in a toxic environment they would use to make you question yourself?

1. You're misunderstanding what I said? What it actually means: You've caught me lying, and I'm trying to turn the table around so you can doubt yourself.

2. I don't like drama! What it actually means: I thrive on it. I just stay calm so that you can question yourself on being dramatic?

3. You never let me finish when I'm saying something? What it actually means: I can't let you speak 'cause I have to stay in control by silencing you?

Here is another thing to look out for especially if you have close friends you might want to pay attention this is a very serious one for everyone to know. When a toxic person can NO longer controls you.... watch out for this one... They will try to control how others see you, especially your friends! This a true fact, I can't even tell you how many times I have been there. Especially when it comes to my mother and my family in laws. They don't like me at all and I don't really care, at least I know who I am. As for my husband he knows me better than his family so he isn't on their side but always be careful.

This is just a note to keep in mind: just 'cause they are your family. it doesn't mean you have to tolerate the. Just 'cause they are blood doesn't mean that they have the right to be part of your life. If they are toxic they are toxic. If they are un-willing to change you need to let them go. We didn't chose our family? But you can chose to walk away? That is perfectly fine to do that. Don't ever feel guilty for not choosing your family?

This is to those who say this to people: This is for you! So please pay attention? Can we please get out of the habit of TELING people..."well that's your mom. That's still your dad. That's still your brother or sister." TOXIC is TOXIC. You are allowed to walk away from people who constantly hurt YOU! READ IT AGAIN.

I wish I did a lot sooner in my life, but I am happy that I still managed to get out while I still had a chance. I wished I cut off my toxic family members, and cut other people out of my life even though they're blood 'cause they're affected my mental health and never respecting me not even my bounties. Imma tell you this now do this while you still can don't get to fucked up and don't get to damaged from your toxic family like I did.

Hope this was helpful to you and I hope you can get threw this, just look for things that isn't okay and go with your gut's feeling it's always a sign for something. I'll be out with another story soon.

advice
1

About the Creator

Ms. Thomas

Always wanted to be a writer since I was 10 years old and now that I am 22 now, I can able to write still and make my dream come true.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.