Psyche logo

Anxious Teeth

Bruxism is the unconscious grinding or clenching of one's teeth and I have it bad

By Leslie WritesPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
3
Photo by: @alex_lab on freepik.com

So when did it start? Let’s see. I went to the dentist for my regular checkup. The hygienist asked me if I grind my teeth in my sleep, but how would I know that if I’m asleep?

She angled a mirror so I could see inside my mouth and ran a gloved finger over my canines. “These teeth are supposed to come to a point, but yours are flat. Do you wake up with headaches? Pain in your jaw?”

“Doesn’t everybody?”

I guess it happened so gradually, I didn’t even notice. I couldn’t believe that my body was capable of doing that to itself. But here I was mindlessly grinding my teeth as smooth as sea glass.

The dentist had me fitted for a night guard, a hard, unpleasant piece of plastic that fits over my upper teeth to protect them from getting any flatter, I guess.

What is Bruxism and what causes it?

The definition I lifted from the Mayo Clinic website says that Bruxism (BRUK-size-um) is a condition in which you grind, gnash or clench your teeth. If you have bruxism, you may unconsciously clench your teeth when you're awake (awake bruxism) or clench or grind them during sleep (sleep bruxism). I have both.

The cause of bruxism is still a bit of a mystery, but may be attributed to a combination of physical, psychological, and genetic factors. The idea that stress plays a role comes as no surprise, but I laughed when I saw “certain personality types” listed among the risk factors for this condition.

Did my experience at the dentist sound familiar? Bruxism is actually fairly common, affecting at least ten percent of adults at night and thirty percent during the day. Maybe you have it and don’t even realize it.

What are the symptoms?

  • Abrasion (loss of enamel) - I have this one, of course!
  • Sensitivity - Check!
  • Pain or tension in the facial and jaw muscles - Check!
  • Headaches - Check!
  • Popping or clicking in the temporomandibular joint (TMJ) - I have had this. As annoying as it is to have this problem, the comments you get when people hear you clicking is so much worse.
  • Tongue indentations - Can’t say that I have had the pleasure.
  • Damage to the inside of the cheek - I don’t want to brag, but the insides of my cheeks have some serious texture!
  • Wear facets (flat smooth areas created on the biting surfaces of the teeth as they are rubbed together repeatedly) - A tiny Tom Cruise could slide across the surface of my teeth like that scene in Risky Business.

What kind of treatments are available?

  • Behavioral - “Have you tried NOT unconsciously clenching your teeth?”
  • Biofeedback - The movements of your mouth and jaw are monitored by an electronic device that signals you when you are grinding/clenching. Sounds kinky!
  • Medication - There is no magic pill, but certain antidepressants can cause bruxism, so switching medications may help.

As for me, I have trouble wearing my night guard. I know I sound like a child here, but frankly, it’s gross! I hate it and I think I may be in denial about its effectiveness. On the many nights I skip wearing it I think, surely one more night won’t make a difference.

My teeth have been through a lot. I sucked my thumb for so many years that my top palate had formed to the shape of my thumb. I had to endure a horrific orthodontic device to widen it enough for them to apply braces. Then I had the audacity to stop wearing my retainer a few years later. Sorry, Dad.

My anxiety is no secret. Do I have it under control? Not really. Am I grinding my teeth right now as I type this sentence? Yep, just caught myself. But even if I can't stop the habit, it's worth trying some new relaxation techniques. This mindful meditation thing sounds promising.

Sources:

Mayo Clinic

Johns Hopkins

Cedars-Sinai

anxiety
3

About the Creator

Leslie Writes

Another struggling millennial. Writing is my creative outlet and stress reliever.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydred12 months ago

    Excellent informative piece

  • C. H. Richard12 months ago

    I also have Bruxism and can not wear the stupid plastic retainer - lol. I do more clenching than grinding but always during stressful times. Very informative piece

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.