Psyche logo

Anxiety, its a Big One

By Allison Harris

By AllisonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Anxiety, its a Big One
Photo by Christopher Ott on Unsplash

In this day and age over 40 million people suffer from anxiety, approximately 18.1 percent of young adults of the ages 18 and over suffer themselves from anxiety. So how come with more than half the population feeling the same, people feel so along. Approximately only 36 percent of people seek out treatment.

Anxiety in itself cause people to feel different things, but most times it can feel as though someone is taking a vacuum and sucking out all the air from your lungs making impossible to breath. Over the years I myself have experienced anxiety, and panic attacks. So what did I do that helped well I’ll tell you about it.

There are many things that help, it all depends on the person, how there body works, how they work. Somethings aren’t for everyone and they might not help at all but I’m hoping that some of these things become useful and do help as they have for me.

Meditation, I want to start off with this because it’s a well-known one. Most people try it, for some it works for others it takes a while, it’s a set skill that take time and practice and most people don’t get it at first. The first thing I like to do is set up in a welcoming area this can be anywhere that you’re comfortable, A park, your living room, anywhere that feels right. Start off by sitting down legs folded like a pretzel start breathing , as you breath count to 10 stay focused on your counting. Any time you find yourself drifting away from it or thinking of something else start you count over, count slow and with every breath do this for approximately 15 minutes a day. When you are done stand up slowly, laying down will cause you to fall asleep, your body becomes extremely relaxed and most people find that to be a good nap time. Try you best to stay awake. Stand up and stretch.

Reading, some days feel long and drown out and sometimes the thought of getting out of bed seems like an impossible task, a good book and tea will not only help use your brain functions, activating them but also keep your mind occupied. Reading in itself can be an extremely relaxing thing. Fun facts about reading is that it helps with your memory, visual and auditory processes, needless to say it helps make your brain stronger.

Writing/ for me I write everything down, my thoughts feeling it helps writing it down putting it on paper getting it out of your thought proses I do this often I carry account a little book and pen anywhere I go and anything that I find important I write it an idea a thought a feeling and sometimes I go back to it read it sometimes I rip it out tear it up throw it away. Getting rid of those thoughts for the day.

Running/Working out, for me personally this has helped a lot, going for a nice long run or even a walk helps me clear my head and think about what is really important most times when I run I don’t even think just one food in front of the other keep going depending on the day depends how far I go, bike riding is another amazing thing and even the gym working out lifting weights, lifting them and getting the weight that’s on your mind off. Running in itself doesn’t entirely have to be running it doesn’t matter how fast you go or how far it matters about the motion in which you’re going for me the whole point is to keep moving forward.

I personally follow the 5 by 5 rule, for those who don’t know what it is. If it won’t matter in five years don’t spend more than five minutes on it, now don’t get me wrong I definitely think of things that have happened in the past and felt as though I could have done things differently but I do my best to not dwell on things, if it has already happen then it happened it’s in the past and I can’t change that I do my best for next time.

I still struggle but over the years things have gotten better calming down for me I do different things to help, no matter what it is asking for help is never a bad thing.

With the world so full we feel alone as people even with someone standing right next to us, some people believe they can’t talk about this with other people and what most people don’t realize it that there not the only person in the world that feels this way there are support systems out there that can and will help but you have to take the first step sometime a therapist does help

anxiety
Like

About the Creator

Allison

Poet at heart, connected to the sun, moon, and the stars above.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.