Psyche logo

Anxiety is a boxer

This condition is real to know

By Narleysia NicoleePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

aNG-ˈzīə-dē that’s how you pronounce the word Anxiety. Anxiety is having the feeling as though you are worried or have the sense of nervousness over something that was an important event or sometimes out of nowhere because of overthinking. Some people believe that anxiety is non-existent, it isn’t real and that people who suffer from it are just having a phase of being scared of something that is consider little in their eyes but big and serious to those that have it. Sometimes people don’t have a clear understanding or don’t care to know that this condition is a real important thing just like other conditions such as having ptsd.

Anxiety can be caused by emotional trauma from your childhood or even adulthood of someone saying not so great things about you or do negative things to you. It can be caused by stressing over something continuously. Anxiety can occur even from drugs and it can take a toll on you, especially if you have no one that understands how you feel about it or has ever experienced what you may go through. This can sometimes make you feel as though you may need to draw yourself away from people or feel different in a bad way from others but that only makes it worse than ever because you need people to support you and you need to know that you aren’t bad for having it.

For me as an individual I do experience anxiety. It is not as bad as others but the times that I do experience it, it is when I think of things in my past which some memories were emotional trauma for me because I was mistreated by people and I wish every day that I could change it and avoid those situations, but in a way I’m glad that it happened because I know better now to prevent it from continuing in my life. Although, now I fear the thought of being mistreated and hurt by someone again when I meet new people, or if I start caring for someone that may possibly care about me. I always feel as though I need to be worried of the possibility of being cut off by someone or something ending not so great. Another time that I experience anxiety is when a person becomes loud with me for no apparent reason or simple to scare me. Lastly, it is when I’m doing something that is significant to me to better my life or will change it either way.

It is real and so many people go through the feeling of being nervous and overthinking daily or much worse. so, it shouldn’t be foreign to people and it should not be overlooked because sometimes people need to know that it is someone there that isn’t going to judge them and would try to help them get through it. It is not something that is simple to get over with through the night, it is not a phase or a joke. People that have it do not enjoy going through it, some people that have goes through it every day and that can seem like it’s winning like someone’s kicking your butt and it sucks truthfully. I try to think it’s not because it isn’t your whole life, it’s just something that is apart of it. That will possibly go away one day or maybe not at all, but it doesn’t control who you are, and it doesn’t make you. The ways I try to work on it is trying to breathe slow and counting. Other ways to deal with it is to try exercising and keeping a positive attitude and go to the right people that will understand because overall anxiety may seem like it’s winning but it isn’t you are winning but knowing you are strong enough to overcome it or to know that you deserve to be treated kindly in every way.

anxiety
1

About the Creator

Narleysia Nicolee

just another writer telling a story. 💛🧚🏾‍♀️ Did I tell you though I write poetry and have books out? I also prefer brownies over cake.. Anywhosies Thank you and I hope you enjoy my work since you’re here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.