Psyche logo

Anxiety: A Little Understanding

How to Help a Friend with an Anxiety Disorder

By Katie GasterPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

Anxiety disorder is one of the most common mental illnesses. If you don't live with it yourself, you probably know someone who does. I think it's really underemphasised how important it is to understand what it's like to suffer with anxiety—especially since so many people do on a daily basis. The way people are treated when it comes to their anxiety can really affect how they handle their disorder. If someone is encouraged to suppress their anxieties, I can only imagine how problematic that could be for their mental health. Obviously, I'm not a medical professional, but I do suffer from anxiety and hopefully my experiences can shed some light on what it's like to live with the disorder.

I believe I have GAD (generalised anxiety disorder), although I haven't been officially diagnosed. I experience anxiety on pretty much a daily basis. Like many people with an anxiety disorder, I have triggers I know of and can often avoid. Things like being in large crowds, making phone calls, and running late can all trigger my anxiety. People have triggers that those without anxiety disorders wouldn't think twice about. For example, getting off the bus is a trigger for me; it causes minor anxious butterflies in my tum. Even if it's a bus stop I get off at everyday, it's not uncommon for those butterflies to pay my belly a visit. It's a trigger that doesn't make sense—even to me—yet it happens. If someone struggles to do something due to their anxiety, it's so important not to mock or judge them. Most of the time emphasising how irrational an anxiety is just wont help. It will probably make them feel worse.

Some people with an anxiety disorder require space to deal with their brains. I have friends who don't want to communicate with people when they're going through a rough patch, and that's totally okay. If a friend doesn't want to talk to you because they're dealing with a low point of their mental health, you can't take it personally. We all need to prioritise our mental health before anything and everyone else. How can we help others when we're not in a good headspace ourselves?

Sometimes it's hard to recognise when someone is struggling with anxiety. One thing to note is how their persona and attitudes might change. I often go quiet, moody, and distant if I'm feeling anxious. If I'm experiencing anxiety around others, I don't always want to tell people. I don't want to spoil the day or bring own other peoples moods. This is not good, and something I need to work on. If you have friends/family who suffer with anxiety, a conversation with them to help you understand when they could be anxious, as well as their triggers, is a super healthy thing to do. Nobody wants to feel like a burden when they're already experiencing anxiety.

Finally, I thought I'd mention panic attacks. They are something that anxiety can cause and they are really, really shit. In my experience, panic attacks can literally make me feel like I'm going to die. If you're with someone who is experiencing a panic attack, I recommend giving them plenty of room and not invading their space in a panic of your own. Ask them if you can help and reassure them of your presence.

Hopefully this has made some sense and gave some insight!

anxiety
Like

About the Creator

Katie Gaster

22 y/o film graduate with a love of discussing and creating

https://www.katiegaster.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.