Psyche logo

An Open Letter to the Voices in my Head

Don’t let the voices in your head take control of you

By Umama Zahir Published 3 years ago 4 min read
3
An Open Letter to the Voices in my Head
Photo by Pietra Schwarzler on Unsplash

Dear Voices (in my head),

We know each other for a long time but I don’t remember how we met. Did I permit you to enter my head or did you invade that land? I wanted to formally address you all. The reason is that for a while now, you guys have been creating havoc inside my head. It is not your debate hall, you can’t just start a random discussion and go on about it for hours. I need some space, that’s why I’m writing this letter to you to officially end my relationship with a few of you.

The voice of neglect, I tolerated you for too long. I know you entered my head the moment my parents left me at a foster house for years so they can enjoy their life because raising a child is a huge deal of responsibility. We thought about this issue for a long time and we came to no conclusion than occasionally weeping at night and wishing for things to be different. I thought you are my best friend and you used to feed on that. I don’t feel the same way about you anymore. Voice of neglect, I have found the most amazing life partner who gives me all the attention, so I won’t be needing you. Leave my head, please.

Moving on to the voice of negativity, we had this discussion before and I’m begging you to leave my head. I don’t want to talk about how people are moving ahead in life while I’m stuck in a monotonous routine. I want to let you go because I have everything I ever wanted from life. I’m finally happy. So quit it.

Voice of dislike, why you want me to see the negative traits in everyone. I know some people don’t exude positive vibes, but I should not let that affect me in any way. I don’t care if I don’t like anyone because they are mean to me. Voice of dislike, you can stay but I’m giving you a warning, please don’t overdo it. Don’t talk about things for hours. It gets so exhausting.

Voice of overthinking, LEAVE! Right now!

Voice of joy, I know I keep you suppressed but it’s not my fault. It’s all because of the voice of fear. I’m always scared that if I talk to you for hours, maybe you will get bored of me and will leave me. I don’t want you to go. I want you to be my best friend but the voice of fear is always lurking nearby.

Voice of gloom, everything is going to be all right. Just stay in a corner because I don’t like interacting with you much.

Voice of fear, please don’t do this to me. I literally cannot move forward in life because of you. I feel happy in my new life but you always keep reminding me that everything is temporary and death can take away from me the people I love the most. Go away and just let me enjoy!

Voice of love, you need to calm down. I love you and you love me but this drooling needs to stop. Thank you so much for being the richest voice in my head. If it was up to me, I would’ve given you everything but the world is too cruel and the voice of reason constantly keeps reminding me of that.

Voice of reason, you keep me sane but because of you, I have become a bit skeptical. You can be a permanent member of my head. I like you.

Lastly, this is my request that some voices need to go so others can join, or maybe I will keep the head closed for some time so no new voice can enter. You guys are making it so difficult for me. This letter is proof that I gave you a warning, now if I kick anyone out, you can’t use it against me. I remember how the voice of negativity took over the whole head and made you all slaves. I’m not going to let this happen again.

To the ones who are leaving the head, hope you’ve enjoyed your stay. Don’t try to talk to me, the door is open for you guys.

To those who will stay with me, please stay within limits and don’t create chaos in my head. I want peace.

Sincerely,

Owner of the head

anxiety
3

About the Creator

Umama Zahir

My name is Umama. I am passionate about writing and strive to create pieces that leave a lasting impact on my readers. Through my work, I aim to convey the depth of emotions and explore themes that truly resonate with the core of our being.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen5 months ago

    I really love this story. I don't think the voices are going anywhere. You just have to show them who is boss and keep the great ones more active. Voice of creativity is the best one along with love and joy.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.