Psyche logo

An Open Diary

It will be okay.

By Kendra TownPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Dear Diary

This past week has been quite complicated. I have fallen in a hole I am not sure I can climb out of but I will try.

"It's not you. It's me," I whispered. You see, I can no longer tell if it's raining or if that's just my depression. I'm in the shower at least three times a day, and I hate showering. But the thought of you being gone, yet still on my skin, kills me.

It's Friday morning, the day after I cut for the first time in months. Last night, sleep consisted of five hours of nightmares. I have exams today. I undress in front of the mirror, cringing at the sight of the wounds I made the night before. They still seep blood as I run water over them. The sting burns. I step away from the mirror and sink to turn on the shower. I put it so hot it will burn, and I step in.

My skin's so hot I can finally feel your touch running off of me. I want it gone but I want you back. My life went from bright to bitter within minutes of you leaving. I want the brightness back but I must get back up on my feet once again. I must put down the blade and pick up my sword. No, not to hurt myself but rather to hurt my demons.

I said I'll work on getting better for you but that's a lie. I will work on me for me. I am here to be the best I can be for myself.

It's Saturday now. The depression settles in once again as if I was the home it came to rest in. Last night, I was up until 3 AM talking to you. I'm embarrassed and sad about it all though. I tried to trust you but I only upset you. You went to get help. The thing is, I didn't need help. I needed someone to trust. Now everyone knows that I am a self-harming freak.

I want you all to know one thing. I did not self-harm over a boy, nor would I ever. I self-harm because I am upset and it helps me release my emotions. It's not a good thing at all. I am scared of my own being at this point and I wish I could live a happy healthy life but instead I am here. I wish I could be better and I am getting help but this is a process. You made me feel like a freak. I am no freak nor is anyone who self-harms. Someday I want to make that apparent to those who cannot see how self-harm helps in the worst of ways.

I went to a college open house today. I want to be a CYC and I think I'll do well but I worry. I worry that I am unwell now and that I may never be well enough to help others in my situation. I cried this morning worrying about this. But someday I'll make a difference to someone. Someday this will only be a memory. Today, it is a painful experience.

Someday I'll help another young girl who thinks she's a freak for self-harming. But listen to me Darling, you're not. You're more than your self-harm. You are a beautiful and kind and you need to follow your dreams. If you are where I am right now, call that crisis line at 2 AM when you're completely alone. You are not alone, darling. You are a bright young woman and you will make it through this.

Sincerely, Kendra

coping
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.