Psyche logo

Allisons Story

whats love gots to do with it

By rachell patilloPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
1

He swung knocking her head up against the wall, she held her hands up trying to block the swings but the fist where hard and came down on her face with force, she drops to her knees holding one hand up begging him to stop, He kicks her in her ribs, she screams in pain she staying still as he continues to kick her hoping that it ends soon. He is about to give one more kick, he draw’s back with force for one last kick, but he stops in the mist of it, realizing while looking down at her that she had enough. He walks away while grabbing his bear off the table and leaves her there in her own blood crying trying to figure out what she did wrong.

Hello this story is about a girl name Allison, Allison is a 36-year-old woman who is suffering from abuse, her boyfriend beats her when things do not go his way, or when he feels like life was too hard on him and he has to take it out on her.

Allison lays there for a second she sits up and wipes the tears from her eyes, I don’t know what I did that made him so angry, I need to be more careful, not to make him angry. She gets up from the floor head to the bathroom to whip her face, the image she sees made tears form in her eyes. She grabs the towel that hangs on the shower rack, she turns on the warm water, as the water runs, she stares at the image that reflects back at her, thinking to herself once again I have to stop making him mad, I’m so stupid she thought if I just had shut my mouth then all of this would not have happened. Next time I know, to just be quiet. She wets the towel and began to wipe the blood from her lip and under her eye.

Allison is a beautiful woman who like all women deserve to be happy and treated with respect and is loved unconditionally, who is told that she is beautiful and smart, she deserves to be told thank you for the things that she does, she is a gift from god and by that she is deserving of happiness.

Allison walks out the bathroom and she goes to get dressed, she remembered that she has a 1:00pm appointment with the housing program to get assistance with payment for this month rent. Her boyfriend drunk up all the rent money leaving her to deal with the notice of eviction. She dresses the wounds changes her shirt from the blood stains and head out the door.

During the car ride she turns up the music and put her sunglasses on, she is trying to put her experience in the back of her mind but the pain reminds her that she need not to mess this up or its more to come if she doesn’t get the money. Pulling up to the building it reads Families First Foundation. She checks her image in the mirror put on her red lip stick to try to cover the blood print that is on her lip from the open cut, she puts her sun glasses back on grabs her purse gets out the car and heads inside the building. Faces turn to her as she enters the building, she feels the cool air that tingles her eye causing her to ache in pain. She walks up to the front desk and says. “Hello my name is Allison and I have an appointment with Mrs. Jackson, what time the clerk says without looking up. 1:00pm she replied. she looks up her name prints out her ticket and hands it to her, Allison takes the ticket, she turns to go sit down when the clerk says, ‘’ sorry but you have to remove your sunglasses we have a no hat no sunglasses policy. She looks as embarrassment floods her face, she proceeds to remove her glasses the clerk looks at her and was lost for words. Oh! dear honey is you okay? By the judge of her face, she knew those wounds where fresh and done by the hands of someone, dangerous in her life. Yes, I’m okay Allison replies, she heads to the section where she is told to wait and sit until she is called. So many eyes were on her, she sits and wonder why do glares sting harder than the fist. The clerk gets up and heads to the back to get MRS. Jackson, as she approaches her office, she is put on hold by the finger of Mrs. Jackson giving her thee hold on signal until she ends the call that she is on. ‘’yes, that would be fine just make sure you fax over the needed documents to be able to go forward with the process, okay talk to you soon. MRS. Jackosn hangs up the line and look over at the clerk and says yes what is it. Yes, your 1:00pm is here, okay send her in. UMMM yes before, I do I want to let you know that her face looks like signs of abuse, and I mean it looks pretty serious. Really okay shaking her head send her in, she wakes out and heads back to the front she singles Allison to come with her. Allison gets up and heads over in the direction that the clerk leads, in here she points Allison walks in the small cubical and sits down. Mrs. Jackson looks with complete disbelief, honey what brings you here today? Yes, I’m here because I need help on my rent, Humm that’s it? She asked. Yes, okay MRS. Jackson said, she begins to ask more needed questions and also hoping to find out what happened to her face. How many is in your house hold? She asked. Just me and my boyfriend she replied. Okay do he work? No, he just lost his job. Is that the reason why he put his hands on you she asked? Oh no he didn’t do this I fell down our steps and hit my face on the railing. No mama that is a fist mark that he put on your face, she dropped her head with embarrassment, okay so he hits me when he gets mad but he is sorry for it, he loves me. She says. No baby that is not love that is hate and he is using you as a punching bag for his release. One day he is going to hit you and you are not going to be able to get back up. She asked do you have any kids. No, she responded. Baby do you won’t to get out she asked? Sometimes, but then I think about where I’m going to go, I have no money no family no one to help me and all he will do is find me and beat me and take me back home so, no I rather just take my chances on the not getting back up part. Oh Baby Mrs. Jackson says I wouldn’t have asked you if you didn’t have anyone. Look are you going to help me with the rent or not please I need help with the rent. Mrs. Jackson knew that if she didn’t help her, she goes back and take a beating again. She asked her if she had proof of residence and any proof of snap benefits, income and her rental statement that she could use for her file. She asked her if she had a statement of how much her monthly rent was. She handed over the documents, she waited until MRS. Jackson was done copying and typing her information in her system, she sat quietly and patiently. Okay! I have a promissory note that I will send over to your land lord letting them know that a check is on the way. Thank you! Allison said thank you so much. She gets up and before she walks out, she stops and says I bet you think I’m pretty stupid ha. No baby not at all I believe you just need help and I’m offering my help but only you can save yourself by the choice of saying no more. Mrs. Jackson stood up and handed her card, saying pleases call me if you need anything. She took the card placing her sunglasses back on her face and said thank you I might just do that.

I wrote this story for any woman experiencing abuse of any from, you are beautiful and deserving you don’t have to take or accept abuse, you are more than that and you do deserve to be happy.

‘’YOUR CHOICE TODAY CAN ALTER YOUR LIFE FOR A BETTER TOMORROW”

trauma
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.