Psyche logo

ADHD

A Late Diagnosis

By S. K. GregoryPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
ADHD
Photo by Marcel Strauß on Unsplash

As I write this, I am currently waiting on a referral to see if I have ADHD, but all signs point to the disorder. At 36, this is the first time I have ever considered it as a possibility, despite always knowing that I am 'different'. My referral did not come from a doctor diagnosing me or noticing the symptom, it has never been even suggested in my whole life. No, I came to the conclusion on my own after viewing videos and posts online from friends telling me how the disorder affects them. Bit by bit, it started to make sense and I finally called the doctor about it. They felt there was sufficient evidence to send me to an expert.

Why did it go undetected for so long?

Based on my research on the subject, I would have to conclude that it is because I am female and because I did well in school. That was probably down to a high IQ more than anything because I rarely went to school. I was the quiet kid in class, though I constantly felt like I had to be doing something. Usually, this involved doodling in my notebooks or twirling pens through my fingers. Neither were particularly noticeable or over the top.

ADHD is not something I ever considered for myself in the past because I never had cause to read up on it. To me, I was going off the stereotype of a little boy in the classroom, unable to sit still. It is only now that I know it is so much more than that and that it affects everyone differently. Like a lot of disorders, it is a spectrum disorder. Females present differently to males. There are also three types of ADHD - impulsive, inattentive and combined. A diagnosis would be difficult even when the disorder is suspected. For me, I believe I have the combined type, but I will know more after my appointment.

What to do if you are in the same boat?

If you feel that you have ADHD or any disorder that has gone undiagnosed, don't be afraid to speak to your doctor about it. I already feel relief that there is a possible explanation for the way my brain works. Though I may have to wait weeks to get the appointment, at least I am on the right track.

Do research your symptoms and make a note of them. Speak to other people who have the disorder. For me, it was hearing other people talk about their everyday lives that made me realize that I behaved in a similar way. Keep an open mind too. You may have a disorder, but there is a lot of crossover for various disorders and it can be hard to determine which one it is. Diagnosis could take time, but by knowing the truth, you can work toward alleviating and dealing with your symptoms better.

What is the next step?

For me, it is more research as I wait for the official diagnosis. I want to understand it and find ways to deal with it. I am a great believer in natural remedies, meditation techniques and alternative therapies, though others may choose to go down a different route and that is completely fine. You have to do what is right for you and it may take time to find something that works. The most important thing is to take your time and increase your knowledge of the condition. Find like-minded people who can offer support or simply a willing ear when you are struggling. I hope you get the answers you are looking for.

disorder
Like

About the Creator

S. K. Gregory

I am an author, journalist and blogger. I love reading and offer reviews to authors

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.