Psyche logo

A Daily Gratitude Practice Helped Me Recover From Depression

How to use daily gratitude to turn your life around

By Dilara BegumPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I think you'd all agree that the year 2020 was tough for us all, with the entire world forced into multiple bouts of isolation, life as we knew it completely changed. Some people also had to deal with the added challenges of losing their jobs, loved ones or relationships and struggled with depression.

I am no exception, I would normally class myself as a very positive person, regardless of my situation I always picked myself up, dusted myself off and started again. But 2020 was especially tough because a very important relationship to me broke down and I found myself in a really dark place, where I couldn't get out of bed let alone bring myself to be positive. I was signed off work for the first time in my entire professional life, I had suicidal thoughts like as if things would be easier if I wasn't here anymore, that the world would be a better place without me.

I watched all the Netflix Series I found entertaining to distract myself, but once I was done I still felt empty until that is when I decided to find a way out of the negative place I found myself in. I searched and searched for things that could help me, I found many resources as well as had therapy, but there is one tool that I found to be most beneficial and that was a daily gratitude practice.

I came across a book called The Magic by Rhonda Byrne, this book helped me realise that there really is so much to be grateful for. It requires you to be committed and stay the course for a whole month, with new gratitude exercises every day and two daily exercises that are still with me four months after I started the Gratitude Practice.

I always believed in the Laws of Attraction, and I'd practiced manifestation for two decades, but I'm so grateful that I found the Gratitude Practice, because I am in a completely different place now than where I was last year and my manifestations are super charged with daily gratitude.

I had heard of the Gratitude Practice before, but I had no idea how beneficial it is to get you out of negativity. Being grateful for all the good things in life and attracting more good things as a result, because like attracts like. The more you are grateful, the more things you receive that you are going to be grateful for.

Try this yourself and let me know what happens for you.

Daily Gratitude Routine:

  1. Every morning when you wake up write ten new things you are grateful for, I started with the smallest things like being able to buy my morning coffee, or clean drinking water, or a comfy bed
  2. Every night before you go to sleep, think of the best thing that happened that day and say "I'm truly grateful for the best thing that happened to me today". I have a small rock that I hold in my hand when I say thank you, even if nothing major happened that day, I could still find something like having a chat with my best friend, or a delicious meal

I highly recommend downloading a gratitude app to remind you to journal, I found The Secret Super App really helpful, as it also keeps me motivated with other peoples success stories.

Thank you for reading, I will share more tips and techniques that have helped me along the way. Until then, sending you lots of love and healing energy.

Dilara

If you are having suicidal thoughts please know that you are not alone, there are so many people who love you and there is support available for you. Contact Samaritans:

Call: 116 123

Email: [email protected]

Web: www.samaritans.org

selfcare
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.