Psyche logo

5 Self-Care Tips for 2019

Make yourself a priority.

By BA QueenPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by Alisa Anton on Unsplash

The term "self-care" has been thrown around a lot this last year, for good and bad reasons. Although some supposed self-care tips seem obvious or useless, it's important to remember that self-care actually is a very essential tool, and you should be making your mental health and well-being a priority.

I want to share with you five self-care tips that I've been using throughout 2018 and plan on carrying on implementing into my life this coming year.

1. Meditation

I know, I know. Everybody tells you that meditation is great and that it will totally change your outlook on life, and I can imagine you're sick of hearing that. Just hear me out. I try to meditate once every day, either first thing in the morning or last thing at night. I find that it helps me keep a clear mind and ground myself. Honestly, for the average person, it isn't a gate to enlightenment and complete inner peace. But it is a really useful way to give yourself a 10 minute period where all you have to do is breathe, maybe reflect on your day or think of some goals for tomorrow, and just let your body relax. We all hold an awful lot of tension and it should be released at some point.

2. Pamper yourself.

This might seem like an expensive thing to do, but I promise it really isn't. I don't mean go get your nails and hair done every week or have spa treatments once a fortnight. I just mean take the time to make yourself feel good about your body and your appearance. It could be by just taking an extra five minutes in the shower to really thoroughly wash your hair, or reminding yourself to put on that hot lipstick that makes you feel powerful. If you can find these small things that make you feel good, it will make a drastic difference to your day. I always feel happier and more confident when I've taken the time to comb through my ludicrous amounts of hair.

3. Listen to your body.

Sometimes we get carried away and push ourselves too far or ignore what our body is saying to us. I know that I’m constantly not getting enough sleep, and spending too many hours being busy. I’ve learned that I should let my body rest, and when it’s tired, I should allow myself to sleep. When I’m feeling emotionally drained, I need to step back from the situation and look after my mental health. You are a priority and your body knows what it needs—so listen to it!

4. Try new things.

A pet peeve of mine is when I get stuck in the same old boring routine. And a way to make yourself excited for life again is by exploring new things, whether it’s hobbies, foods, or whatever else! It’s so refreshing trying something new, and it’s always good to learn and grow as a person. I recommend visiting a restaurant you’ve never been to, or joining a skills class! You’ll be surprised at how much this can help your mental health and keep you feeling fresh and positive!

5. Remove toxicity.

This one is so much easier said than done, I know that. But it is so true! One of the best things that you can do for yourself is create an environment that’s positive, supportive, and loving. Sometimes that means dropping toxic "friends" who don’t have a positive effect in your life. Sometimes it means pursuing a new career path that fulfills you more! Whatever it is, remember that the key is happiness and you deserve that! Remove all the bad energy in 2019 and allow yourself to feel free and happy!

I hope you found these tips helpful, I’ll definitely be implementing them into my life when the new year rolls around.

I write a lot about living a happy life, as well as living with disability, so if you want to hear more from me then please check out my other posts!

selfcare
Like

About the Creator

BA Queen

Chronically trying to get better.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.