Psyche logo

3 Ways Writing Helped Me Through My Depression

Everyone's passionate about something.

By jenna j Published 6 years ago 2 min read
Like
Illustrated by Rupi Kaur

I'm sure everyone on this platform writes about a topic they are passionate about. As you can tell from most of my posts (more like all of them haha!), I struggle with anxiety and depression. I found writing down what I was feeling really helped me. Without further ado, here are three ways writing helped me through my hardest times:

Escape Reality and the Pressures of Society

With all the pressures of society to be someone you aren't and the fast-paced lifestyle I live, writing helped ground me. I know that might sound weird, but hear me out. I am a very sensitive person; I am pretty reserved and like to keep to myself most of the time. In one of my previous posts, I wrote about how I moved to a different state and how hard it was for me mentally. I wasn't sure if the people at my new school were nice and I was extremely scared and paranoid about being judged. Sitting down and just jotting down my thoughts allowed me to get away from it all, almost like I was in a zone.

To Say How I Was Feeling When No One Was There to Listen

Since moving, I haven't really found any friends or anyone to talk to. As someone who struggles with social anxiety, which is fear of social interactions with people, making brand new friends is one of the hardest things for me. I tend to keep my feelings pretty bottled up, which isn't a good thing. Writing about that one hard day at school, or how much I miss my friends, or that one boy, helped me remove that thought from my mind and put it down on paper. Sometimes, I post those notes on this platform because I know I am not the only one going through it.

Self Confidence!

Being a teenager, media impacts my daily life. I really struggle with self-confidence, and it's a battle for me. I tend to compare myself to others, which isn't good. I am a naturally skinny person, and it's a struggle for me to gain weight and feel good about myself. Writing has let me express myself and ultimately feel better about myself! There are so many amazing and inspiring authors out there, and it made me realize whatever I may be going through, I'm not alone!

Poetry

I only recently started reading poetry but, lemme just say, it is one of my favorite things in the world to do now. A lot of the poets I read, I relate to in one way or another. Because of that, I find myself in a deep state of mind, almost like being transcended into a parallel universe. I currently own over ten poetry books, consisting of ones by Rupi Kaur, Noot Unnahar, R.H. Sin, Courtney Peppernell, and more. So get out there and read some poetry!

Here is one of my favorite poems from Noor Unnahar's book, yesterday i was the moon:

when ache arrivesput it on paperit is here to hurt your heartuse it to save your art—Noor Unnahar

Wow, you made it through!

If you are reading this, I just want to say thank you. I'm happy I've found a platform that allows me to share my personal experiences with others. I absolutely love reading articles that other authors have written that I can relate to. I hope some of you out there found this article helpful in one way or another.

Thank you for reading!

depression
Like

About the Creator

jenna j

random little things from time to time :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.