Psyche logo

23 Years Old, Sober

No, I didn’t have a problem with alcohol. Yes, I still hang out at night.

By Auriane AlixPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
Photo by Sangria Señorial on Unsplash

My weakness is beer. I love it. I love that there are so many variations within one drink category. So many colors, tastes, levels of bitterness. I also appreciate a good Piña Colada or a Spritz at a beach bar in the summer.

But I ditched the bottle. I’ve been brooding over the decision for a little over six months now, and it’s been exactly 18 days without a drop. Yeah, that’s pretty recent. But still: I’ve stuck with it, I plan to keep sticking with it, and I don’t regret my decision for a second. It’s quite the opposite.

I used to drink once every two or three days.

I started drinking because everyone drinks. I gradually found out what I liked best, while keeping it in moderation because that’s the way I am. It inhibited my shyness and allowed me to dance in public.

Just one glass each time. Sometimes more. An aperitif with my parents, a beer or two with my friends… Then, quarantine came. No more parties. No more Friday nights on terraces in Paris. No more social gatherings. I drank one or two beers a week with my father, a glass of wine on weekends, and that was it.

Then I became a digital nomad. I made friends in Lisbon, Portugal, where I sampled several delicious local spirits. I made friends in Playa del Carmen, Mexico, where I drank cocktails and beers in beach bars and on rooftops. I made friends in Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica, and ended up with a hangover. That was the one time too many, although I’ve had very few in my life.

I couldn’t see a bottle anymore. I went about three weeks without a drop, and I didn’t miss it. Then, when I got back to France, I indulged again, having weekend drinks with my family, then going back to Paris where my friends are.

But I soon realized one thing. I now disliked the effects of alcohol.

I couldn’t see any positive points to alcohol anymore, except the taste. From that point on, it was only a matter of time.

Alcohol is ethanol. Human beings are not designed to drink it. Period.

“Ethanol is a natural byproduct of plant fermentation and also can be produced through the hydration of ethylene. Because it can readily dissolve in water and other organic compounds, ethanol also is an ingredient in a range of products, from personal care and beauty products to paints and varnishes to fuel.” — Chemical Safety Facts

That in itself is reason enough to get rid of the bottle. That being said, I want to make it clear that I don’t judge those who drink. It’s my decision, and it’s about me only. People can do whatever they want, it’s none of my business.

Along with not liking the floating sensation induced by drinking, I have noticed another side effect. I like strong beers, anything above 6 or 7% alcohol because I find their taste more interesting. The problem is that even if I only drank one, I could literally feel it messing with my system the next day. I wasn’t feeling my best, and it bothered me. Another point is that I’ve been trying to connect to reality and develop a clear mind, whether it be through meditation or personal development. This work I do on myself is the opposite of what alcohol does.

Drinking no longer made sense to me.

Not liking the effect + being impaired the next day + realizing we aren’t designed to drink at all. All of this fueled my decision.

I’m 23 years old, and I’m sober.

Me? I was feeling great.

The other night, I was out with some friends. After playing tennis, we went to watch the French Open at a bar. We both ordered soft drinks. My friend opted for a Coke, I took my new favorite: a virgin Piña colada. Then, another friend came to join us. They switched to alcohol. I had a ginger beer.

Later, we went to sit in front of the George Pompidou Center because the weather was nice and the bar terraces were crowded. We went to the supermarket to buy some groceries. I picked the new Perrier “energy” drink (it’s mate), they went for beers.

When my friend got home a little before midnight, she texted me, “I already feel hungover. I realized that drinking after exercising was a bad idea.” Me? I felt great. And I woke up the next day feeling great.

Final Thoughts

Sticking with my decision isn’t hard. I think it matured enough, and I was ready. It’s totally in line with the person I’ve become, my principles, my aspirations, and my values. I’m not tempted by a single drop and instead have fun trying all kinds of non-alcoholic drinks. Desperados Mojito 0% is my favorite so far.

I also make sure I always have appealing options. In my fridge, I have three different non-alcoholic drinks. When I go out, I choose my bars based on their soft drink menu. Don’t underestimate the power of what you surround yourself with:

“You are a product of your environment. So choose the environment that will best develop you toward your objective. Are the things around you helping you toward success — or are they holding you back?” — W. Clement Stone

For example last Friday, I had planned to meet my girlfriend for a drink out. When I got to the bar before her, I looked at the menu: the only soft drinks were classic sodas. The alternatives to alcohol were anything but fancy. Rather than get frustrated, we switched bars.

It’s only been 18 days. I can’t say what the future holds, but for now, I really can’t see myself going back. Life without alcohol is much more enjoyable.

I feel much more in tune with myself this way.

recovery
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.