Psyche logo

罗德里戈:经历职业生涯最痛苦时刻,但我不能抱怨只需尽我所能

"And then I'll look back and think all the hard work I've done since I was a kid was worth it."

By Yan Guo LuanPublished about a year ago 9 min read
Like

Brazil lost to Croatia in the quarter-finals, substitute Rodrigo wrote.

"I'm sorry, without a doubt this is the most painful moment of my career. We went from heaven to hell in a few minutes and this is what I hoped would not happen. I know it will pass and even though I still don't have the strength to stand up, I believe I will come back."

"I don't know what to do, but I'll come back stronger. For 21 years, nothing has been easy so far, nor will it be, but it has been worth it. Thank you to everyone who cheered for me and believed in me. Thank you to God for all that he has done and for your tolerance for me after imperfections. I keep asking myself why me? Why does it have to be this way? Only people close to me can see what I have done all year to have a good World Cup. Why should it end like this? I couldn't understand it, but then I started thinking about it all, and I realized that I couldn't complain about anything, I just needed to do my best as usual. Thank you again. 2026 will be different. I still believe that we will be lucky. My dear country, Brazil!"

Modric has met a lot of young people in the Real Madrid dressing room over the past two years, but the 34-year-old Croat couldn't believe it when he learned that Rodrigo's father was only 35.

Modric may have felt the power of the backside, but Real's opponents certainly felt it more than he did.

Real Madrid fans can see some hope for the future despite losing to Manchester City in the last 16 of the Champions League quarter-eighth knockout leg.

In the 28th minute, Rodrigo used a precise outside instep touch to disarm Cancelo, who is seven years his senior, before setting up Benzema for a precise cross:

GIF cover

In that moment, Rodrigo, undaunted by the long-established Cancello, did what Pele had told him:

"Don't be afraid of anything, just play your football.

In his debut season at Real Madrid, Rodrigo made 26 appearances for the first team in all competitions with seven goals and three assists, not bad for a 19-year-old.

Much to the envy of the daddies and uncles of Luka Modric's squad, Rodrigo's career has only just begun. There's a long road ahead of him, glory and trouble, but Rodrigo is ready, because his motto is:

"No matter what happens, I'm going to keep going."

1

By rights, Modric should not have been so surprised.

The Croat has been team-mates with, or at least heard of, a number of Brazilian players, many of whom became fathers at an early age, such as Neymar at 19.

Rodrigo's father Eric is a little early, though.

"I was 16, his dad was 15, and I got pregnant with Rodrigo, and thank God it was a gift from him." Rodrigo was born in 2001 in Osascu, Sao Paulo state. Unlike the Brazilian soccer stars we know growing up in slums, Osascu is a standard middle-class neighborhood.

The reason is simple. Rodrigo's father is also a professional footballer.

Like Rodrigo now, Eric played as a winger.

He was not as talented as his son, having spent his career playing in Brazil's lower leagues and, at his highest, only the second division.

In some ways, his highest achievement in soccer was to create a home environment where, in his mother's words, "[Rodrigo] always had a football in his arms. There were no toys, no games."

However, his father, a professional player, had to travel with the team, which meant that Rodrigo played at home alone.

"I cry a lot because of it."

Growing up in a family like this, it was only natural that Rodrigo would get involved with football.

At the age of seven, he went to Sao Paulo for a trial and faced opponents two years older than himself without fear. After practice, the coach came to Rodrigo's family and asked, "Is this kid nine? "The family said he was 7.

"No way, you're lying to me. "

Winning a number of junior awards, Rodrigo quickly attracted the attention of professional clubs. He signed for Santos at the age of 11 and five years later made his first-team debut for the club, scoring his first goal the following year.

It was also the year that the father discovered that the words he told his 5-year-old son, "Don't worry, your son is going to be a world star," were probably not a lie.

Offers from Liverpool, Paris Saint-Germain and Barcelona have made it possible.

"My career plan is to continue playing for Santos. I hope to be selected for the national team first and then think about playing in Europe. "

Speaking to reporters at the time, Rodrigo appeared to be in no hurry to move to Europe, but it took him only 20 minutes to change his mind when Real Madrid's offer arrived.

Because, "In Brazil everyone supports a local team and a European team, and the European team I support is Real Madrid. "

So in the summer of 2018, Real Madrid once again beat a number of other contenders to acquire Rodrigo. Last summer, Rodrigo turned 18 and officially joined the team that made it impossible for him to say no.

He entered the Bernabeu imagining the crowd chanting "Rodrygo, Rogrygo".

2

The sight he was looking forward to did not keep him waiting long.

Last summer, Rodrigo made his debut for Real Madrid in the International Champions Cup against Bayern Munich, scoring a free-kick that didn't lead to victory, and it wasn't at the Bernabeu.

He started the season bouncing back and forth between the first team and Castilla, and by the end of September, the sixth-round La Liga game against Osasuna was a game for the young Brazilians.

It took just 93 seconds for Rodrigo, who came on as a substitute for Vinicius, to score his first goal on home turf after Vinicius rediscovered his scoring touch with a long-range shot.

"I'm so happy. It's amazing. I've achieved a dream. "

GIF cover

During that time, Rodrigo quickly captured the hearts of Real Madrid fans.

"Jair Ventura (Corinthians coach) said to me that Rodrigo is like a player who has played for many years and is mature in his decision-making. "

"On the field, he gives people the feeling of a 25-year-old. "

Although not as flashy as Vinicius, he is practical and effective on the pitch and more of a goal threat, which is probably why he scored a hat-trick against Galatasaray.

Rodrigo's father, who was watching from the box at the time, said: "There are no words to describe the feeling. The tears explained everything. "

That night, the Bernaburi rang with Rodrigo's name. From a kid at Santos to a Real Madrid striker wearing a cap in the Champions League, Rodrigo did not dream of such a leap, but it was not unexpected.

"I've been working so hard all these years to prepare for this to happen, and it's not a surprise to me."

At Real Madrid, both coach Zinedine Zidane and the "elders" of the team have taken great care of Rodrigo.

After training, Zidane would call him into his office to point out his mistakes in technique and tactics, tell him how to move on the pitch and give him tips on how to play football.

"It will help me a lot. "

In the final of the Spanish Super Cup against Atletico Madrid, Real Madrid and the opponent went all the way to the penalty shootout. When he decided to take the penalty, he dared not raise his hand because he wanted to take the penalty, but he was afraid to steal the thunder from other teammates. It was Kroos who encouraged him to take it:

"It was really difficult to pick five penalty takers but I knew Rodrigo had done well in training. He was only a teenager and I knew he might be scared when he got to the spot but I told him that as a striker, if he had the chance to take a penalty, he had to take it. "

Eventually, he resisted the pressure.

3

For Vinicius and Rodrigo's generation of young Brazilian players, Neymar is the undoubted number one idol, but ask him who has had the biggest influence on Rodrigo since joining Real Madrid and he has an unexpected answer:

"Casemiro."

In Rodrigo's opinion, Casemiro changed the stereotype of Brazilian players because he always took young players to the gym, physio and training ground. It was hard to label him as lazy and hedonistic, which helped him win countless trophies.

"To see him work so hard and achieve all those things, he's a role model for me to follow."

But Rodrigo, who sees Casemiro as a role model, does have the potential to succeed.

Heading into 2020, his first-team appearances plummeted. In an effort to keep Rodrigo from getting too frustrated, Zidane went out of his way to have a heart-to - heart talk with him and personally explain the reason for his reduced playing time.

To the surprise of the Frenchman, Rodrigo's mood did not fluctuate too much. Not only did he remain calm in training, preparing and waiting for his chance, but he also accepted the advice of the coaching staff that he should work out in Castile.

According to Spanish media reports, such modest qualities pleased Zidane as he did not see the importance of playing at Castilla:

"I don't care if I play at Castile or in the first team. Because we have so many good players."

Rodrigo has made three appearances for Castilla this season, all of which have been very good.

He has not known Castilla coach Raul for a long time, but Raul has always said that when he comes to training, Rodrigo has the right attitude and works hard.

"It was clear from the beginning of his situation that he was a Real Madrid first-team player, but when he can help Castilla or when Castilla can help him, he will come here and play."

That's why, after Rainier joined Real Madrid, he sent his own advice to his new man:

"It is not a bad thing to play at Castile now, many players have to go through this. Casemiro was like that and now he's a first-team star."

Rodrigo has not been idle during the pandemic.

In order to better adapt to the intensity of the European competition, Real Madrid's coaching staff advised him to add 3Kg of muscle, so he brought in his fitness coach Marcel Duarte from Brazil.

Marcel developed a strict and detailed training plan for him during his home isolation. After two months of devil training, Rodrigo has become much stronger than last summer.

Santos president Carlos Perez once praised Rodrigo, who is young but not lost in his boyish fame: "Some people might be worried that a player at such a young age will not play too much. I'm telling you it's impossible." At Real Madrid, he has certainly not disgraced the people who thought he was good at the club and is still making solid progress one step at a time.

"Everyone told me: 'Keep going, keep calm'. I think that's why things are going so well."

Rodrigo was a five-year-old at the 2006 World Cup.

In front of the TV, Rodrigo was reduced to tears as Zinedine Zidane set up Thierry Henry for the game's only goal with a free-kick that ended Brazil's run in Germany.

More than a decade later, the man who made him cry had become his coach. What's more, Rodrigo, who has already been selected for the Brazilian national team, may be able to give Zidane a taste of his own pain in the future.

He was called up by Tete during the international break in November last year and made his international debut.

Although the 1-0 defeat to Argentina left a bitter taste in his mouth, the joy of wearing the national shirt was even stronger for Rodrigo as a child.

Still, he remained calm when he spoke to reporters after the game, "like a 25-year-old," as Teater put it:

"I will continue to work hard and earn the manager's trust. It is up to the manager whether he plays or not. All I can do is play well in training, wait for my chance and let it happen naturally."

"I love Madrid, the weather, the way of life. I would stay here all my life if I could."

Rodrigo is well aware that his call-up to the national team comes from playing well for his club, so he has to work hard at ordinary times, at club level, to be consistent and good, and at that point, as he says, "let it happen naturally."

When asked what his dream is for the future, Rodrigo said he would like to win one, two or three Champions League titles. If that happens, it will be the happiest moment of his life.

"And then I'll look back and think all the hard work I've done since I was a kid was worth it."

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Yan Guo Luan

I like movies, music, science fiction and art. I am a certified graphic designer and create my own art. Things that inspire me include equality, respect and anything weird.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.