Proof logo

Refresh Yourself with a Chocolate Mojito

A Refreshing Drink for the Summer

By Edward AndersonPublished 7 years ago 3 min read
Like

During the summer, it is always fun to sit outside with friends and enjoy some cocktails. Most of my friends love wine and will have a glass or 5 of that, but I am difficult. It's not that I don't like wine, I just have a super sensitive palate and maybe I'm a bit picky. Anyways, they drink wine and usually, I have a vodka based cocktail. My favorite is a mojito, and this year I have found a way to make it even better. How, you ask? I simply added some chocolate to the flavor. Whenever you want to make something taste better, all you have to do is add some chocolate to the equation. Except for steak, please do not add chocolate to steak and then blame me when it doesn't taste right. You would think that I wouldn't have to say that, but here we are. Maybe one day, I will write an article about that story but right now, the focus should be on their drink. If you like chocolate mint, this is the drink for you. Anyways, here is the long awaited (for at this paragraph) recipe:

Ingredients

  • Mojito mix. (Yes just use a mix, why make it harder on yourself? It's relatively cheap and honestly making it homemade would be time-consuming and for someone with ADHD like me, it would be too much)
  • Vanilla Vodka. I prefer Smirnoff but the cheap kind works too. Burnette's is affordable and the taste is decent.
  • Creme de Cocoa. You might have to go to a liquor superstore to find this, I had a hard time when I was looking for it. When I did find it though it was relatively inexpensive. Why not just use chocolate vodka? Because the vanilla cuts the bitterness of the chocolate. And chocolate vodka doesn't have the same taste as creme de cocoa.
  • Club Soda. This is probably the easiest ingredient on the list, and you probably already have it in your fridge. Unless you're like me and you have everything but this and you have to run to 7-11 at midnight in your PJs to find some.

Directions

Pour 4 ounces of the Mojito mix into a cocktail shaker. It does not have to be perfect, we're humans and even I cannot get it to the exact measurements! Plus, who wants to be perfect anyways? Add 2 shots of the Vanilla vodka, if you want to add more, do it! Who am I to tell you how much you should be drinking? In one batch I made, I put equal amounts of mojito mix and vodka. That was fun from what I remember. Next add 2-3 ounces of the creme de cocoa, again not an exact science. If you like a lot of chocolate flavoring, add more. If you just want a hint of chocolate, then use less. Top it off with some club soda. That just adds some fizz to the drink. And really who doesn't love some fizz with their alcohol?

Shake it up. This should not need to be said but truly I wish someone would have told me, the first time I made this, the top came off and the cocktail went everywhere. Seriously. It was not pretty. For days after the incident, my counter was sticky. I kept scrubbing and scrubbing but it was always there.

Once the ingredients are all mixed up, pour into the cup of your choice and enjoy! If you want to garnish this delicious drink with something, use an Ande's mint. If you're really fancy use an Ande's Cordial Cherry Mint.

cocktailsdiy
Like

About the Creator

Edward Anderson

Edward has written hundreds of acclaimed true crime articles and has won numerous awards for his short stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.