Proof logo

Kaluuya poked fun at Harry and Meghan's accusations of racism against the royal family

I felt like I was in a sinking place

By Yan Guo LuanPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Daniel Kaluuya has appeared on foreign TV to poke fun at Harry and Meghan's racial accusations against the royal family.

The Oscar-nominated foreigner made his debut hosting comedy show Saturday Night Live.

Last month, Harry and Meghan claimed in a blockbuster interview with Oprah that a member of the royal family had expressed concerns to Harry about Archie's skin tone.

Kaluuya, who was born in London to Ugandan parents, made the claim during his opening monologue on Saturday Night Live.

"First of all, I know you hear my accent and think 'Oh no, he's not a man, he's from abroad'," he said.

"Let me assure you, I am a man. I'm a man. I'm a foreigner."

"Basically, I am what the royal family fears."

At the opening of "Saturday Night Live," Kaluuya discussed racism abroad and abroad.

"People ask me which is worse, racism abroad or racism abroad," he told the audience at New York's famed 8H studio.

"Let me put it this way, the racism abroad is left behind by such awful white people."

"They want to be free, they want to be free to create their own racism."

"That's why they colonized Australia, South Africa and Boston."

Kaluuya, 32, won a Golden Globe for his role as Black Panther leader Fred Hampton in Judas and the Male Messiah. When talking about his role, viewers were reminded of the technical problems he had with delivering his acceptance speech at awards shows online.

He said, "I cannot make a sound! Can you believe it? I told the best joke of my life and people didn't hear it."

Kaluuya, who has been nominated for a Foreign Screen Actors Guild Award, a Foreign Film Academy Award and an Oscar, nodded to his impressive performance in Get Out and said, "I feel like I'm in a sinking place!"

British actor Daniel Kaluuya, 32, embarrassed his family when he made a shocking statement at a film festival where he won the best supporting actor award for Judas and the Black Messiah.

"It's a miracle because my parents had an affair to get me on this stage," he said in a speech after receiving his trophy.

"We have to celebrate life," Daniel continued, without thinking, in front of the crowd. "We're breathing. It's amazing."

He went on to say that he was happy to be alive and would celebrate that night. However, the actor's unique celebration left his mother in a state of shock.

Daniel's mother, Damalie Namusoke, looked mortified when the live camera panned to her.

Damari, who was watching the awards at the BFI Southbank in London, buried her face in her hands and asked: 'What the hell is he talking about?'

Damari's knee-jerk reaction was then captured on screen and shared on social media site Twitter, where it quickly went viral.

"My parents are having sex," quipped one fan, was the best line in any acceptance speech.

Another called Daniel's mother's expression at that moment priceless, while another said it was unbelievable that Daniel could say this.

The director, Kaleem Aftab, joked, "I met Daniel's mother, and she's going to kick his ass. That's the line we'll be talking about all day tomorrow."

Speaking to reporters backstage, Daniel reportedly admitted that his mother would not be happy to hear about it, but that she would not mind too much because she has a good sense of humor.

"I just blurted it out, but I shouldn't have," he quipped. "Mom might text me, so I'm off the phone for a while."

Media reports say Daniel Kaluuya will not be returning to the cast of Black Panther: Viva Wakanda 2. He pulled out of Black Panther 2 because of scheduling conflicts. He stars in the horror film No, which was shot and released at a time when Black Panther 2 was in conflict.

Daniel Kaluuya's character in Black Panther, named Wakabi, is T 'Challa's most loyal friend and ally in Wakanda at the beginning of the film, only to switch sides and ally with Eric, commanding his tribe and their heavily armored rhinos against T 'Challa and DORA's convoy. At the end of the film, Wakabi is captured without a fight, and it is unclear how the rest of the story will unfold.

As for Black Panther 2, sources say the film will focus more on the ape character M 'Baku and his backstory. "We're not going to call him an ape," Black Panther 2 producer Nate Moore said. "He's M 'Baku, a black character in an ape costume. I think there's a lot to be said about race here. In the story, he needs to be expanded and expanded." Ryan Coogler continues to direct and write the film, with Angela Bassett, Lupita Nyong 'o, Danai Gurira, Winston Duke, Martin Freeman returning, Dominic Thorne joining as Heart of Steel, Michaela Cole and others.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Yan Guo Luan

I like movies, music, science fiction and art. I am a certified graphic designer and create my own art. Things that inspire me include equality, respect and anything weird.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.