Proof logo

Best Yeast Free Alcohol to Bring to Your Next Party

Eliminating yeast from your diet isn't as hard as you think then when it comes to alcohol choices. These are ten of the best yeast free alcohol choices to bring to your next party.

By April DemarcoPublished 5 years ago 6 min read

Many of the most popular alcoholic beverages unfortunately include yeast. And for someone who is trying to transition their diet into a yeast-free or gluten-free one, this can come as a disappointment.

When I first made the transition, I felt like I couldn't drink at all and become instantly discouraged. Ordering a water while my friends chugged down beer was certainly frustrating. However, in the long run, I realized there was no need to be. There are plenty of options to choose from when it comes to the best yeast free alcohol. And you don't have to sacrifice quality, taste, or strength, either.

Called "the purest of all alcohols," vodka proudly takes our first spot of the best yeast free alcohol. During the distillation process, the yeast is rigorously removed from the drink.

And due to its clear appearance, you can be confident in the fact that the drink is free of yeast. If yeast were to remain after the distillation process, the vodka would not be clear. So if you're on a yeast-free diet, vodka is one of the top recommendations. Plus, if you drink vodka that is incredibly pure, like CIROC, this will prevent the possibility of a hangover (that is if you drink responsibly).

Gin is next on our list of the best yeast free alcohol due to its filtration. Before it's bottled, gin goes through an intense filtration that clears the alcohol of any yeast, hence the clear appearance. Another plus is that gin is preservative free. However, it is a diuretic alcohol, which means that it increases the flow of urine.

Not only is this inconvenient, it also means that your body can easily become dehydrated since you're peeing so much. So be sure to drink water while having a few glasses of gin on a night out. Besides that, it's a great drink of choice for someone who is on a yeast-free diet.

People have been arguing that tequila is the "healthiest" alcohol for years. Blanco tequila, specifically as one of the best gifts for tequila lovers, is the purest type of 100 percent agave tequila. These are the healthiest because the darker aged tequilas are often ages in barrels.

We're seeing a pattern here, aren't we? Due to its clear appearance, we know that the fermentation and distilling process eliminates any traces of yeast. So for someone with a yeast-free diet, this is one of the best choices to make when it comes to overall health.

Irish whiskey is not what first comes to mind when thinking of yeast free alcohol. However, believe it or not, Irish whiskey is created with only the use of three ingredients.

Those ingredients are malted barley, unmalted barley, and pure water. So yes, this drink of choice is both yeast free and gluten free. Which means it is suitable for a celiac or someone on a yeast-free diet to drink. And don't worry, we've moved onto drinks that don't have to be clear in order to be considered yeast free. And Jameson is my personal favorite for putting into the best whiskey cocktails.

Those who are on a gluten- and yeast-free diet probably already know about Omission; but just in case you don't, here's a little run down: Omission Brewing Company was started because the brewmaster's wife was diagnosed with Celiac's disease, and all he wanted to do was sit back, relax, and enjoy a cool one with the misses.

Brewed in traditional lager style, minus the part where they distill out the gluten stemming from the barley, this flavorfully full beer will even wow those among you who consider themselves beer snobs. Be warned though, the science isn't perfect. Despite the fact that Omission tests every batch they brew to ensure they've removed as much gluten as they could, people with extremely severe celiac disease might just want to opt for liquor, wine, or hard seltzers. Still though, for the beer lover or the innately curious, Omission has lent to many a happy drinker.

Another type of whiskey, bourbon whiskey is yet another one of the best yeast free alcohol choices. There are actually a lot of different types of whiskey that are gluten free. For example, we have Maker's Mark, Wild Turkey Bourbon, Queen Jennie Whiskey, and Hudson Bay Bourbon.

However, there are also other types that those who are allergic to gluten specifically should not drink, like Fireball. Though whiskey is a type of alcohol that is made from gluten grains, they are removed to 20 ppm, and are safe to drink for Celiacs. But of course, you have to drink at your own risk, because everyone reacts differently.

Moonshine can also be called white whiskey, mountain dew, hooch, or white lightning. But that's besides the point. I'm sure you can guess by now what proves this alcohol is free from yeast; its color. Clear, and a type of whiskey, we already know how each of these attests its safety for gluten free diets.

Yes, schnapps are also a type of yeast free alcohol! Schnapps is most known for a few main flavors, peach, peppermint, and sometimes butterscotch. Personally, I would choose peach every time.

But fun fact, if you pour a bit of chocolate syrup in your mouth and have a friend pour a bit of peppermint schnapps in as well, it tastes just like a peppermint patty, perfect for the holidays. My friends and I would always do this at christmas parties; it's very classy. Anyway, this is made from fermented fruit and is considered a "True" spirit. So this means peach schnapps are safe on a gluten free and yeast free diet. Plus it's one of the best flavored alcohol on the market right now.

Believe it or not, on a gluten-free diet, you can drink Hennessy Cognac. Cognac is a variation of brandy made in wine-growing regions.

And though you should be aware of the fact that some flavors may contain glutenous ingredients, cognacs are simple to find brands that are safe for gluten free diets and celiacs. Making the list of the gluten free brandy is Hennessy Cognac. And we're sure many of you are excited to hear this.

Finally, yes, it is possible to drink wine on a yeast-free diet. By the time the wine makes it into the bottle, the drink is completely free of yeast. Yeast is only used to initially color and flavor the wine, much like beer.

However, through a filtration process, the yeast is cleared from the drink. If you still had yeast in your wine, it would appear cloudy and distasteful over a certain amount of time. As one of the best types of yeast free alcohol, this sweet concord grape wine by Kedem Kosher is a great place to start.


About the Creator

April Demarco

Proud mom of three chinchillas, hard core Justin Bieber fan, watches Unsolved Murders religiously

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights


There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2023 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.