Proof logo

Best Flavored Alcohol That You Need to Try

If unflavored alcohol makes your stomach turn, you've come to the right place. When looking to switch up your signature drink, look no further than some of the best flavored alcohol to try out.

By Kelsey LangePublished 6 years ago 6 min read
Top Story - May 2018
Like

People who choose an unflavored bottle of alcohol over a flavored one are certainly interesting human beings. Personally, that could never be me. My freshman year of college, I had a very poor experience with a bottle of unflavored Barcadi. And still to this day, just the thought of the smell of that bottle makes my stomach turn.

Thankfully, there is a ton of flavored alcohol on the market, to mask that terrible shoe-polish smell and taste that unflavored alcohol tends to have. I have come up with a list of the best flavored alcohol to try, from the basics of rum and vodka, to tequila, whiskey, brandy, and beer.

Plus, each of these flavors are unique on their own. Depending on your craving, I've selected a high-quality bottles of flavors with everything from peach to vanilla.

To start off the best flavored alcohol, of course we had to begin with a flavored vodka. When thinking of flavored spirits, the first thing to come to mind is vodka, and then Grey Goose. So hear me out, I know that pear is not the first flavor you're going to choose off the shelves.

But that's why I'm suggesting it. Pear has a subtle taste, but one that mixes surprisingly well. So creating a vodka mixed drink becomes easy with this bottle. Plus, you can never go wrong with Grey Goose. This bottle is actually infused with pear, artistically blended by the "Maitre de Chai with Grey Goose Vodka, to create Grey Goose La Poire Vodka." Use it to make some low calorie vodka cocktails, and you're set.

Next is whiskey. I know jumping from vodka to whiskey might be jarring, but I had to take the plunge. If you're looking for some of the best flavored alcohol, don't forget about whiskey.

This bottle by Crown Royal is flavored with honey. Sweet, but flavorful, the honey mixes harmoniously with the alcohol and will taste great either on the rocks or mixed in a whiskey cocktail. Maybe you can even use this to make some delicious cocktails on the go! My mouth is already watering.

Now it's time for rum. My drink of choice through college was not nearly as tasty as this one. This specific rum was created by Alexandre Gabriel, who is a cellar master, in collaboration with David Wondrich, the author of the book, Imbibe. The duo created this in tribute to the esteemed Reverend Stiggins, known for his favorite drink being pineapple rum.

It was actually not intended for sale initially, and only to share amongst friends. Now, it's available everywhere. With a story like this, you have to give it shot, right? I personally love pineapple and wish there were more options as rich as this when it comes to flavored rums.

Vanilla brandy might sound a bit weird, but I promise you it is on my list of the best flavored alcohol for a reason. Vanilla liquor is the perfect companion for a can of coke. Smooth, yet flavorful, this is the only way I can appreciate brandy, and I'm perfectly okay with that.

Vanilla liquor is a classic, and with this balanced vanilla liqueur in your cup, you'll understand why it's been appreciated for so many years. On a summer night, you'll find yourself craving this; mark my words.

Yes, this is orange tequila, and yes, you can trust me. Thinking outside of the box here, I had to make sure the flavors were unique, and this is definitely it. Tequila is dangerous as it is, and with a flavor as smooth as this, you might have to cancel your plans for the day after drinking this liqueur.

A blend of 100 percent blue agave tequila that is infused with natural orange flavors and agave nectar, ripe Mexican oranges fill the flavor to create the ultimate margarita. You can thank me later.

Obviously, this isn't thinking outside of the box when it comes to the best flavored alcohol. However, I couldn't create my list without mentioning Ciroc. Specifically, the peach Ciroc vodka is heavenly. I can remember my first time drinking this.

I was in Miami for spring break with four of my closest girlfriends. We were in the liquor store when a group of guys came up to us and bought us the largest bottle of this flavor, and left without even needing our numbers.

Let's just say, it was a great night. Peach is also a great flavor that isn't too overpowering. So if you get a hangover, you won't be reliving the night from the smell of peach. This bottle blends natural flavors and peach, resulting in a smooth and elegant taste.

Though you might not initially think of a flavored beer among the best flavored alcohol, we couldn't forget to mention one or two. Since we've covered practically every type of alcohol, beer deserves its spot as well.

With a 3.48 out of five rating on Beer Advocate, a strawberry beer is certainly not a taste for everyone. However, everyone should give it a shot. I personally do not like beer much, and when I do drink it, it's usually after one of the above liquors. This beer changed that for me with its unique and sweet flavor.

Though I can't classify Mike Hard as being a beer, in the fear of being called a wimp, this too qualifies among the best flavored alcohol. This flavor, among others, is black cherry lemonade.

Though this just sounds like a bunch of different flavors in one, it surprisingly works, and tastes great. I choose this drink to bring with me when I head to the beach, to a barbecue, or really any sort of day drinking. Plus, it doesn't make you as bloated as Smirnoff Ices do (no shade).

One last rum; what would be a list of the best flavored alcohol without mentioning Rum Chata? I honestly can say I don't know anyone who dislikes this liquor. Obviously, this isn't a nightly kind of alcohol to drink, and not one you should use in cocktails to drink before noon. But on special occasions, fun nights with the girls, or just after a very stressful week, it's time to break out the Rum Chata.

Another great tip for this liquor is to mix it into some hot chocolate when you're cuddled up by the fire. It almost makes drinking rum classy and cozy. But if you're a little crazy, I've also heard that mixing it with Fireball (another great flavored alcohol) is a trip. I just can't tell you if that's a good idea from experience. But it's worth a shot!

To conclude the best flavored alcohol, Effen's Cucumber vodka might trick you into thinking that alcohol is good for you. This is the perfect alcohol for health-conscious people who believe that sticking cucumbers in their water tumblers make them look cool (guilty.) Created with freshly harvested vine-ripe cucumbers, this flavor is unlike any other. As a great twist to a traditional martini, this vodka is the perfect mixer.

If any type of vodka is refreshing, it's this. Plus, if you really want to take the healthy route, it even tastes good mixed with soda water for your dieting days.

product review
Like

About the Creator

Kelsey Lange

Passionate about writing, animals, makeup, movies, friends, family, learning, exercising, and laughing!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.