Pride logo

You are the Love that's missing

Iconic music make a better playlist

By Sofia DuartePublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
You are the Love that's missing
Photo by Deon Black on Unsplash

I know this is all about pride, and I am proud to understand and be happy for all the love that the world can have. I am not a part of the problem because I had great songs that made me grow with another way of understanding love.

It is not about LGBTQIA+ love. Actually, I feel ashamed that they have to label themselves because of all the situations that they encounter each time they breathe. You don’t have to say who or what you love in life, what does society have to say? Nothing. Society just creates an illusion for people to feel less freighted about the reality of life: we all die one day and all we have here will pass. You can’t take it with you, you are eternal in the lives that you changed.

And what do we, society, try to make with the little time we have? Spending it with things that don’t matter: hate, being busy with all our thoughts, and things society made us think that is important. We have to live well and feel good, but all that we do has to have meaning – even when it means nothing to others.

And that was the feeling that these two artists gave me: we have to search for our inner selves and live our lives with the reality of the world. Life is a jungle, and we can choose what kind of animal we are. Whatever you feel like, please understand that there are other animals in your jungle, and they have their lives too.

You can try and help people find their inner strength, but don’t ever try to change them to your image. Each individual has his sparkle and magic. Biodiversity is a great and beautiful thing that makes us all special – in our own private way.

Make yourself open to other realities. Don’t let the unknown and the hate persuade you to be evil. We all have limited lives here, let’s live our best, shall we?

Furthermore, I will not share a huge playlist because I think that these two iconic pieces of music have all that it takes to show that love has room for all!

Mister Gay, sung by Alex

Since made me understand that others can love differently and that's beautiful. This is a story about a Portuguese song that is beautiful and shows that love can have many forms. Actually, I never knew that they have sung an English version that it's perfect to show you all!

Canção do Engate (Hook up Song), sung by António Variações

His homophobic family and society did not tear him down from the great music that he has made! The best artists are born with their great courage to be themselves. It does not have an English version, but I'll translate the lyrics for you.

"You're free and I'm free

And there's a night to pass

Why don't we stick together

Why don't we stay

In the adventure of the senses

🎼

You are alone and I am more alone

That you have my gaze

You have my open hand

Waiting to close

In your deserted hand

🎼

Come that love is not time

Nor is it time that makes it so

Come that love

Is the moment in which I give myself

And when you give yourself

🎼

You who seek a company

And I who seek who I want

To be the end of this energy

To be a body of pleasure

To be the end of another day

🎼

You keep waiting

For the best that no longer comes

That hope was found

Before you by someone else

And I'm better than nothing

🎼

Come that love is not the time

Nor is the time that makes it

Come that love

It's the moment when I give myself

And when you give yourself |3x|

🎼

If you give yourself"

🎼🎼🎼

After all this synergy is because of these pieces of love. All I want to say and all that we need is: Less hate, love more.

I hope you liked this playlist. You can check more poetry or stories on my profile or in the table below.

Pride Month

About the Creator

Sofia Duarte

Poetry, facts, and fiction. ✏️

A Portuguese writer with an ocean of content.

News @ sofiaduarte.com

Socials @ Instagram + Facebook + Twitter + LinkedIn

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Sofia DuarteWritten by Sofia Duarte

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.