Pride logo

The Owl Hous fanfic(Raeda) Raine's Gender Journey chapter 8: Lily Knows

This is chapter 8, the chapters must be read in order. The links to the previous chapters are in the body of the story. This is the story of how Raine figured out that they are nonbinary. They're dating Eda so you will get that in this series. This series is written by a non-binary person. In this chapter, they tell Lily who responds with surprising knowledge of her own.

By Ben Ray Published about a year ago 4 min read
1
The trans flag as a gradient in the back ground. There is the transgender symbol which is mostly purple. On top of that there is Raine's head(the head is from a piece I commissioned from WolfShearArt) and above and below that is the title of the series and the name of the chapter.

Chapter 1: The Egg Cracks

Chapter 2: mom

Chapter 3: Our Secret Place

Chapter 4: Family Dinner

Chapter 5: The Most Important Performance

Chapter 6: Somewhere else to eat

Chapter 7: Back to Class

“Hey Mrs. Whispers,” Eda called into the house as soon as I opened the door, she walked right in as if it was her own house, I went in after, Lilith followed me.

“Oh, hello Eda,” she greeted, Raine could see the twitch in her smile as she offered the plate of cookies she made for me. Eda took three and handed one to me and the other to Lily.

“mmm, man, Mrs. Whispers You make good cookies,” my girlfriend spoke, to my still-surprised mom, “Anyways, C- Boron’s going to spend the afternoon at my place with me and Lily, don’t worry both my parents are home and Lily will be with us the whole time,” she smiled at her. I looked at her hopefully.

“You two stay here, Boron, sweetie, come with me to the kitchen,” she took the cookies with her as I followed. She was about to give me the same talk she always gives me when I go over to the Clawthorne's. By this point I memorized it, so I zoned out and ate cookies while she told me all of the horrible things that could happen if we were to get physical and so on. It ended with me saying no half a dozen times, and a promise to not be alone with Eda behind closed doors to make sure she doesn't try anything.

After that was done, we went back to the living room, and she asked to talk to Eda. Same kind of conversation just with threats and warnings. She heard this speech before too. Lily was trying to guess what the secret was.

“Even if you get it right I can't say yes here,” I sighed. “My mom can’t even know that I have something to tell you.”

“Edalyn said the same thing. I guess I really do have to wait,” she sounded frustrated, I wanted to tell her but I couldn’t risk my mom overhearing.

Soon the three of us were heading to the CLawthorn house, with one last reminder of my curfew.

Lily opened the door and Gwendalyn was reading in the sitting area off to the side.

“Witchlet, I see you brought your boyfriend here too, and hello sweet flea, ” she smiled at us. “Just remember to keep the door open, witchlet,” and with that, she returned to her book and the three of us went to Eda’s room. I was starting to second guess letting Lily know, my hand was shaking as I started drawing the spell circle for a silencing spell.

“So, Edalyn and Boron, what’s this big secret of yours?” hearing her say that name, and knowing that Eda would have to use it around her too lessened my anxiety enough for me to finish the circle with steady hands.

Lilith was sitting on the edge of the foot of the bed Eda had kicked off her shoes and leaned against the headboard near the wall I took off my shoes and sat next to her. Her arm found its way around my back and I rested my head on her shoulder.

“Are you sure you're ready?” she whispered into my ear, I nodded a response.

“Ok, you can’t tell anyone about this Lily,” Eda started.

“Of course, you know I don’t tattle Edalyn,” this was definitely true, if she did Eda would have gotten into a lot more trouble than she already gets in.

“They don’t feel male, she is a girl named Cadence,” my heart was pounding, and I held my breath as I waited for her to respond. So many scenarios ran through my head but none of them prepared me for what she was about to say.

“Oh so you’re transgender, I read about that.”

Eda and I responded with different half-syllables of started questions.

“When I was researching love to try to see what was wrong with me because I never felt romantic love or sexual attraction, I found out that I am aromantic and asexual. While I was figuring that out I found out that there are witches that don’t identify as the gender they were assigned at birth, you must be one of them,” my head was swarming with the fact this was a thing, that I almost overlooked the fact that Lily thought there was something wrong with her too. That’s how I felt for a while.

“So Cadence,” Lily intentionally drew out my name, “Who else knows?”

“Just you Eda and Mr. Ryzor, he overheard me telling Eda,” I added the second part nervously.

“Would you like to try on some of Edalyn's or my clothing? We both have our clothing from our last growth spurt, we were around your size.”

“Yes!” I blurted out, I never really thought much about clothing before but now I wanted to try on girl clothing so badly.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I hope that you like this chapter, if you're caught up, I have several other stories for The Owl House out and more to come! Subscribe so you don’t the next chapter! To find the stories I already posted, along with my other works, go to THIS LINK containing an organized easy to navigate google document.

Please, heart, tip, subscribe, and tell your friends!

-----Ben

EmpowermentIdentity
1

About the Creator

Ben Ray

I have poems and series and one shots. I keep a google doc with organized summaries and listings of each story and all of the parts that I've posted.

docs.google.com/document/d/1peKsDklUnqcKA1MjpZpPpYj9WuR-XI5P0U4ajbckmTI/edit?usp=sharing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.