Pride logo

(The Owl House Fanfic)Raine's Gender Journey, chapter 1: The Egg Cracks

As we know, Raine Wispers is non binary. What we don't know is how they figured that out. that's where this story comes in. They are already dating Eda at the start of the story. I am non binary, so even though everybody’s gender journey and experience is different, I have an idea what I'm Raine is going through. Raine’s deadname(the name a trans person is assigned or has tied out but no longer uses) is Baran.

By Ben Ray Published 2 years ago 4 min read
The trans flag as a gradient in the back ground. There is the transgender symbol which is mostly purple. On top of that there is Raine's head(the head is from a piece I commissioned from WolfShearArt) and above and below that is the title of the series and the name of the chapter.

The title is in reference to the term used in the trans community. Someone's egg cracking means they realized that their trans.

I didn’t want to be around people, I’ve been avoiding them for over a week. I was never one for crowds but, now it’s worse. I’ve been feeling wrong in my skin, like my body isn’t mine. I’ve been having these feelings for a while, but I haven’t told anyone. I didn’t understand why, so I kept quiet, but it was getting worse and worse. I figured it was probably part of my anxiety, never feeling like a boy.

I took my lunch to the bard classroom. No one would bother me except for Eda, who came after realizing that I wasn’t in the lunchroom. I stopped thinking of her as a person in some senses months ago. Not in a negative way. In fact, the highest compliment an introvert can give is considering someone as not a person.

“So, today’s a no people kinda day hah, Baran?” she asked as she sat entered, she went across the table, and turned around a chair so we were facing each other.

“ye-yeah,” I nodded.

“Ok, Baran you want to talk about what’s on your mind? Your anxiety keeps getting worse.” I looked down and moved my food around with my fork, with one hand as I tapped a simple beat with my other. I know that she wouldn’t press too hard, but I don’t like to keep secrets from her. She placed her hands over the one on my fork, knowing that the tapping helps calm me down.

“I- I don’t want you to think I’m crazy”

“Baran, you know I love you, right. That won't change no matter what lies your anxiety is telling you,” I looked up to see her gentle caring smile. And beautiful golden eyes. I couldn’t resist.

"O-ok, I just feel like my body doesn’t belong to me I-I feel like I’m not a boy, I don’t like being called a boy. I do-don’t know what I am, I know I must sound crazy right now,” I managed to stutter out, looking away, just hoping that she wouldn’t laugh.

“Ok, so do you think you’re a girl?” Eda’s response completely took me by surprise. I stared at her wide eyes.

“yo-you’re not confused or think I’m ma-making this up or anything or think somethings wrong with me or dump me?”

“Confused, yeah, but I know with how much anxiety you have there is no way you’re making this up, and have thought about it for a while before even telling me. I love you for you boy or girl,” I couldn’t believe that, for once, my anxiety was helpful and she was fine with it!

“Let’s eat our lunch before it’s time for class, girlfriend,” her calling me girlfriend just felt amazing, and I know that she noticed. There was a moment where I was processing my joy as we both quietly ate.

Then in between bites, she posed another question that I did not expect even though I should have but this whole thing just felt like a dream. “So, Baran’s a boy’s name, you got a girl name picked out?”

I shook my head, but I was still overjoyed by the whole thing I felt confident, "How about you name me?" I felt my cheeks flush, I couldn't believe I just said that.

She let out a chuckle, the kind that drove me crazy, ”well, you like music and singing, so how about Cadence?”

“Cadence Whispers,” I said quietly to myself. I like the sound of it, “I like that name too. Thank you, Eda, you’re the best girlfriend I could ask for.”

“Yeah, I am pretty amazing, aren’t I, Cadence,” she smirked. Everything just felt right as we looked into each other’s eyes. I almost forgot about the food. Eda would just eat in class. We were only first years, but she had already gotten just about every punishment Hexside had to offer. When I brought up the fact that lunch would end soon, she gowned, cursing school making me laugh.

“Eda, I don’t think that I need to tell you, but please don’t tell anyone about me,” I told her as we left the classroom.

“You got it, girl,” she smiled, pointed her figures at me, and made a tsk sound. I knew that she was forcing my name and that I was a girl, where ever she could, which made me fall even more in love with her.

That went so well, that I started wondering if I should tell other people. I don’t really have friends. I’ve never really fit in with the other boys for now obvious reasons and have been afraid to talk to girls. I really just had Eda and Lilith. Maybe I could tell my parents? No, they're too overprotective of me. I’m sure that if I had other friends they wouldn't even let me date Eda, because of how much trouble she got into. I kept our relationship hidden from them for a month, then they were just so happy that I was happy so maybe they’ll be fine with this? My mind spiraled as class started, maybe I'll tell Lillith, but not now I'm still figuring things out.

AN

If you like this story, fear not! There are more installments on the way! There are plenty of other installments of these boys already up. Read them all? I also have several other works that you can look at while you wait. For more information on the others stories, and when the next chapter will be up, click the following link or the one in my bio. It’s the same link!

Link

Please, heart, tip, subscribe, and tell your friends!

~~Ben Ray

Identity

About the Creator

Ben Ray

I have poems and series and one shots. I keep a google doc with organized summaries and listings of each story and all of the parts that I've posted.

docs.google.com/document/d/1peKsDklUnqcKA1MjpZpPpYj9WuR-XI5P0U4ajbckmTI/edit?usp=sharing

Reader insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Raine Rizzpers11 months ago

    and 9

  • Raine Rizzpers11 months ago

    I love the concept of it but i need chapter 10 PLEASEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.