Geeks logo

The Owl Hous fanfic(Raeda) Raine's Gender Journey chapter 6: Somewhere else to eat

This is chapter 6, the chapters must be read in order. The links to the previous chapters are in the body of the story. This is the story of how Raine figured out that they are nonbinary. They're dating Eda so you will get that in this series. This series is written by a non-binary person. In this chapter, Eda and Raine have lunch together, with Eda being a source of comfort to her anxious partner.

By Ben Ray Published about a year ago 7 min read
1
The trans flag as a gradient in the back ground. There is the transgender symbol which is mostly purple. On top of that there is Raine's head(the head is from a piece I commissioned from WolfShearArt) and above and below that is the title of the series and the name of the chapter.

Chapter 1: The Egg Cracks

Chapter 2: mom

Chapter 3: Our Secret Place

Chapter 4: Family Dinner

Chapter 5:The Most Important Performance

When class ended for lunch, for once, I wasn't the only one with anxiety. Lucas didn't even say or do anything as he left the room.

I stayed in my seat, resting my head on my arms on the desk, I planned on staying that way until everyone else left and Eda came. I really needed her comfort right now, I could have just destroyed my future because I couldn't deal with a single bully.

Instead of being greeted by my troublemaker, Mr. Ryzon got my attention. "I'm sorry Cadence," I looked up at him afraid of what he'd say next was my performance so bad that I'd get kicked out? Would- wait did he just call me Cadence?! During the performance, he did just use my last name to get me to stop. I looked up confused, how did he know?! He continued talking, "I know that you like to eat here, especially when you're anxious, and I am perfectly fine having you and your girlfriend, or both of the Cawthorne sisters here, whether I'm in the room or not. I am probably the only teacher in the school that would leave Eda unsupervised, but today, I'm sorry, that I need to ask you to have lunch elsewhere. The principal and the other bard teachers want to use this lunch break to talk about you and you're classmates' performances. The principal would also like to have it here. I hope that we can convince Principal Faust not to expel anyone. I must tell you that you did very well, especially since you chose a different instrument. I could feel the emotion in your song. Regardless I need you to leave the classroom. As for your name, I overheard you talking to Eda yesterday, you really should put up a silencing spell when talking about delicate matters. Don't worry I won't tell anyone until you're ready, I am also open to talking to you about it as well," his smile was genuine, then he sighed. "I still require you to leave, I wish I knew a quiet place for you to eat, I have a feeling that Mrs. Glowburn wouldn't allow Eda in the potions homeroom unsupervised, nor do I think it would be a good idea to eat there," that made sense she was a complete trouble maker in class but was, mostly well behaved around me. I just nodded and gathered my things, not really feeling like talking, though I wasn't sure what he had to say anyway.

As soon as I left the homeroom, I was overwhelmed by the chaos in the hallway. Everything is always louder, and there seemed to be more people when my anxiety acts up. I didn't know where to go or how to find Eda in the cafeteria I knew she'd be coming here so I waited outside the classroom.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

It wasn't long until Eda came to me, we agreed to have lunch here today, so she'd come here after buying lunch. Luckily, Lilith had one of her history study clubs, so it would just be me and Eda. My mom had packed me a lunch like I was a child. My parents wanted to make sure there was food I liked, I wasn't really a picky eater but my mom didn't want to take any risks with me. I tend to get a little cranky when I'm over-hungry.

"Hey, Cadence, what are you doing out of the classroom, did he actually kick us out? I thought he liked you?"

"He do-does, they're having a meeting in th-there," I looked down, he did tell me that he thinks of me like a son, or well I guess a daughter now, hopefully. I kept my answers short, not really feeling like talking.

Eda noticed that. "Let's go to the space," she decided, realizing my mental state. She grabbed my hand and walked to the nearest entrance and drew the key.

As soon as the door closed behind me, I fell to the ground and buried my head in my hands, Eda sat next to me, wrapping an arm around me, and waited for me to collect myself.

"I can't believe it! I had the most stressful morning of my life! I could be kicked out of Hexside! Why did I have to change my instrument to one I'm not as comfortable with just to stay away from one classmate?! And Mr. Ryzon knows that I'm a girl he said he wouldn't tell anyone but ur!" I leaned into her and took some deep breaths before telling her about the principal's new policy for those in the bard track. Then about how Mr. Ryzon overheard our conversation. She moved my head up so I was looking into her soft caring gaze. "When Ryzon came up to you did he say anything about how you did?"

I thought for a second as my brain tried to process anything from that exchange besides him knowing I'm a girl and not caring about that and that I needed to find somewhere else to eat.

"He-he said he liked it and it-it was emotional?" The last part came out as an awkward question as I remembered my muse.

She smirked, "You were thinking about me, weren't you?" her voice was playful and made my heart flutter. She knew it would, which is why she did it. I blushed and nodded, breaking eye contact. She let out a small laugh, making me blush even harder. I love that girl so much, but she can be embarrassing sometimes

"Eda!" I wined.

"Oh, Cadence you always make beautiful music about me, both words and melodies".

I wined her name again.

"What? I mean it Cadence," she stroked my arm, "we probably should eat before class starts," she passes me my lunch box. I took out the box of apple blood and traded it for whatever drink my girlfriend had. We've been doing this every day we've been in Hexside, no matter what drink she had.

She knew not to try to spin it as Lucas might get expelled but she knew that I don't want anyone to get in serious trouble no matter who it was.

We ate our lunch in each other's arms. It wasn't until the end of the period, that she brought up Mr. Ryzon being so accepting of me being a girl and was willing to talk about it. Eda wanted to ask him, but I was afraid that it would break the whatever acceptance that we had. Eda told me that she'd ask for me whenever I was ready. I was too afraid even to have her do it.

After we ate, Eda held me as we talked about palisman. I thought it would be nice to always have something to turn to and talk to. Eda already had that with Lilith, and got a little annoyed about overprotective my parents were, so I couldn't go to her when I needed someone to talk to. I assured her that it was just the way it was with them, before we needed to leave for class.

She pulled me into a tight hug right before going back to the normal school. "You got this girl," she grinned at me, giving me the courage to go to class. She held my hand as she walked me to the bard homeroom.

If you like this story, fear not! There are more chapters on the way! Subscribe so you don't miss them! I also have several other works that you can look at while you wait. For more information on the other stories click the following This Link

Please, heart, tip, subscribe, and tell your friends!

~~Ben

fan fiction
1

About the Creator

Ben Ray

I have poems and series and one shots. I keep a google doc with organized summaries and listings of each story and all of the parts that I've posted.

docs.google.com/document/d/1peKsDklUnqcKA1MjpZpPpYj9WuR-XI5P0U4ajbckmTI/edit?usp=sharing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.